The 2016 JRA Cup is a Group 3 event held at Moonee Valley.

JRA Cup News

PB Lawrence Stakes First-Up for Abbey Marie

PB Lawrence Stakes First-Up for Abbey Marie

Trainer Mick Kent has underlined the Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on August 19th as the likely Spring Carnival launch pad for Group 1 winning mare Abbey Marie. Abbey Marie has produced a number of smart performances and results throughout her short racing career so far, but has not been seen at…

The 2016 JRA Cup is a Group 3 staying event held at Moonee Valley racecourse during the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Held towards the end of September, the JRA Cup attracts stayers and milers looking to step up in distance. Run over 2040m, it is held over the same track and distance as the coveted Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) run a month later.

As an open quality event, the JRA Cup attracts some standout performers and offers $200,000 in total prize money.

The JRA Cup is held on Moir Stakes night and shares a race program with three other black type events. These are the headlining Group 1 Moir Stakes (1000m), Group 2 Bill Stutt Stakes (1600m) and Group 2 Stocks Stakes (1600m).

Those horses which contest the JRA Cup often come via an eclectic mixture of preparations. One of the more common lead up races to the JRA Cup is the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes (2000m) held at Caulfield a week before. Horses that experience success sometimes go on to major feature races, such as the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) or the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup (2500m).

The 2016 JRA Cup will be held on Friday September 30, 2016.

JRA Cup 2016
Date: Friday September 30, 2016, 2016
Racecourse: Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance: 2040m
Conditions: Open Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000

2016 JRA Cup Field

The JRA Cup 2016 field was released by Racing Victoria on Wednesday September 28 and features 11 stayers including the Darren Weir-trained top weight mare Real Love and the progrssive Lee & Anthony Freedman-trained import Tom Melbourne on the Cox Plate path.

See below for the official 2016 JRA Cup Final Field & Barrier Draw and follow the link for a full race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 3132114×27 REAL LOVE Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 5 58kg 107
2 11120×9845 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Luke Currie 8 57kg 101
3 0x23151590 MAURUS (GB) Robert Smerdon Craig Williams 11 57kg 101
4 708757×560 TAIYOO Darren Weir Mark Zahra 1 56.5kg 100
5 703x8148x0 ARAB DAWN (GB) John O’Shea Ben Melham 10 56kg 99
6 x0x0730x59 OBSERVATIONAL (GB) Robert Hickmott Damien Oliver 2 55kg 97
7 171x110x26 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) Lee & Anthony Freedman Dwayne Dunn 7 55kg 97
8 7×78142516 BOLD SNIPER (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 9 54.5kg 96
9 1x70115x85 NEVIS (IRE) Robert Hickmott Ms Katelyn Mallyon 6 54kg 95
10 701893×486 GO DREAMING Grant Kluske Dean Yendall 3 54kg 90
11 x001310x79 TARQUIN John O’Shea Michael Dee (a) 4 54kg 89

JRA Cup Betting

The latest JRA Cup betting odds provided by Ladbrokes.com.au are listed below complete with links on your JRA Cup tips.

2016 JRA Cup Nominations

The official JRA Cup nominations closed on Monday September 26 and feature a bumper 26 entries, a number of which also hold a nomination for the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) held over a similar distance at Flemington on Sunday.

Check out the full 2016 JRA Cup nominations now.

JRA Cup History

Inaugurated in 2006, the JRA Cup has a relatively short history in comparison to major races across Australia. However, it’s above-grade prize money, usually more-than-impressive field and interim distance have combined to ensure the JRA Cup has experienced rapid growth in prestige and popularity since its inception.

In its short history, the JRA Cup has already seen some impressive horses pass the post. 2009 Melbourne Cup winner Shocking ran third in the JRA Cup in the same year. Master O’Reilly ran third in the JRA Cup before his stunning 2007 Caulfield Cup victory. Prior to the 2010 edition, the JRA Cup ran as a Listed race.

Notable JRA Cup winners include Maldivian (2007), Alcopop (2009) and Mourinho (2013). JRA Cup results reaching back to the first edition in 2006 are listed below.

JRA Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
1st Real Love 2 minutes 5.76 seconds
2nd Maurus
3rd Tarquin
1st Escado 2 minutes 5.88 seconds
2nd Magnapal
3rd Velox
1st The Cleaner 2 minutes 5.99 seconds
2nd Sangster
3rd Mourinho
1st Mourinho 2 minutes 6.1 seconds
2nd Gris Caro
3rd The Great Snowman
1st Bianmick 2 minutes 6.7 seconds
2nd Dance With Her
3rd Ironstein
1st Dream Pedlar 2 minutes 8.7 seconds
2nd Carnero
3rd Domesky
1st Precedence 2 minutes 5.3 seconds
2nd Rainbow Styling
3rd Linton
1st Alcopop 2 minutes 8.4 seconds
2nd Field Hunter
3rd Shocking
1st Cefalu 2 minutes 5.9 seconds
2nd Majestical
3rd Devil Moon
1st Maldivian 2 minutes 5.8 seconds
2nd Pacino
3rd Master O’Reilly
1st Pavlova 2 minutes 7.0 seconds
2nd Spinney
3rd Delvecchio