2010 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Final Field, Barriers & Betting

Peter Moody’s up-and-coming spring star Doubtful Jack will start the favourite in this Saturday’s $350,000 Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) when Caulfield hosts the first two Group 1 races of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Despite drawing out wide with barrier 10 in the 17-horse final field for the 2010 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, four-year-old gelding Doubtful Jack is the clear favourite currently paying $2.70 for a win through Sportsbet.

Doubtful Jack has been in career best form of late, winning four races on the trot including his last start victory in the Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington and will be ridden by Luke Nolen on Saturday.

Two of the other top fancies in the Sir Rupert Clarke betting are Response at $6 and $8.50 Sister Madly, two mares that are down in the weights bringing them right into contention.

Drawn favourably in barrier five, consistent mare Response is coming off two second place finishes in the Cockram Stakes and Let’s Elope Stakes this spring and could prove a good value bet.

Meanwhile, Anthony Cummings’ Redoute’s Choice mare Sister Madly is seeking her maiden Group victory after running third to More Joyous in the Sheraco Stakes last month.

Cummings is seeking back-to-back success in the Sir Rupert Clark after winning the race 12 months ago with Tuffontein.

Other notable gallopers in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes final field include Gold Salute likely to be at the front early, last start winner at Caulfield Rightfully Yours, Queensland galloper Woorim, Mark Kavanagh’s We’re Gonna Rock and the only Group 1 winner set to start, Kidnapped.

The 2010 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is scheduled to jump at 2:00pm at Caulfield on Saturday as part of elite day of action that will also be highlighted by the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m).

Other Group features on the card including the Caulfield and Thousand Guineas Preludes, as well as the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes where the winner will be exempt from ballot for the Caulfield Cup.

Check out the full range of betting odds and options for this Saturday at our preferred online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au, and if you sign up today you will receive a free $300 bet bundle!

2010 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

# Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 10 58 107
2 GOLD SALUTE Mark Riley Damien Oliver 9 58 107
3 LA ROCKET Dale Sutton Stephen Baster 1 58 107
4 RIGHTFULLY YOURS Mick Price Glen Boss 4 58 107
5 JUNGLE RULER Peter White Darren Gauci 17 57 104
6 KIDNAPPED Peter Snowden Mark Zahra 8 57 104
7 PINNACLES Rick Hore-Lacy Steven Arnold 15 57 103
8 RAFFAELLO Jim Marconi Ben Melham 16 57 104
9 BELTROIS Robbie Griffiths Luke Currie 14 55 98
10 WOORIM Robert Heathcote Danny Nikolic 2 54.5 97
11 NO EVIDENCE NEEDED John P Thompson James Winks 6 53.5 96
12 RESPONSE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Craig Williams 5 53.5 95
13 DELAYEDREACTION (NZ) Leon Corstens Brent Stanley 11 53.5 93
14 ELECTROMOTIVE Lee Freedman Craig Newitt 13 53.5 93
15 SISTER MADLY Anthony Cummings Dwayne Dunn 7 53.5 93
16 GATHERING John P Thompson Dean Holland 3 53.5 92
17 WE’RE GONNA ROCK Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 12 53.5 77