89 Horses Still in Contention for 2010 Cox Plate after First Declarations

September 7, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

89 Horses Still in Contention for 2010 Cox Plate after First Declarations

Today the first declarations for the 2010 Cox Plate were taken with 89 horses still in contention for the $3 million weight-for-age feature due to run at Moonee Valley on October 23.

Originally 186 horses were entered for the 2010 Cox Plate, but less than half have been taken into the next round and are still a chance of making the final field come October.

Connections of Australian Horse of the Year Typhoon Tracy have paid the declaration fee for the brilliant mare, with trainer Gai Waterhouse also continuing on with Cox Plate plans for More Joyous, Once Were Wild, Rock Kingdom, Herculian Prince and Descarado giving Waterhouse a strong assault as she attempts her maiden Cox Plate win.

Early favourite in the Cox Plate betting markets at Ladbrokes.com.au before they were suspended to await the declarations, Bart Cummings’ reigning champion So You Think is also still in contention as are stablemates Allez Wonder, Skorost and 2010 Melbourne Cup bound mares Dariana and Faint Perfume.

Other Cox Plate hopefuls dominating the betting include Shoot Out and 2009 Melbourne Cup winner Shocking, both still a top chance after being declared.

First declarations were also taken today for the 2010 Caulfield Guineas, 2010 Thousand Guineas, 2010 Caulfield Cup and the 2010 Melbourne Cup with 151 horses still heading towards the Melbourne Cup narrowing down the horses for all of these major Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival features.

Betting markets will re-open at premier online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au shortly so keep an eye on your favourites and get ready to lock in the generous early odds still available!

2010 Tatts Cox Plate First Declarations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ALANDI (IRE) Robert Hickmott
2 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens
3 ALLEZ WONDER Bart Cummings
4 ALTIUS Tony Vasil
5 AVIENUS Mark Webb
7 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan
8 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott
10 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
11 CULMINATE (NZ) Darren Weir
12 DANLEIGH Chris Waller
13 DAO DAO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
14 DARIANA Bart Cummings
15 DEALER PRINCIPAL Anthony Cummings
16 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
18 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody
20 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes
21 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings
22 FANJURA (IRE) Lee Freedman
23 GHOSTMILK (IRE) Peter G Moody
24 GOLD SALUTE Mark Riley
25 HARRY THE FOX (NZ) Anthony Cummings
27 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
28 IMPOSING (GB) Robert Hickmott
29 INTENCION Tony Vasil
31 KATIE LEE Graeme Rogerson
32 KEEP THE PEACE (NZ) Shaune Ritchie
33 LA ROCKET Dale Sutton
34 LARGO LAD David Hayes
35 LEVI’S CHOICE John P Thompson
36 LINTON Robert Hickmott
37 LION TAMER (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker
38 LORDS RANSOM Bill & Symon Wilde
40 MAJESTIC MUSIC Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas
41 MARHETA Michael Moroney
42 MENTALITY Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
43 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller
44 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney
45 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
46 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher
47 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott
49 ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse
50 ORIGINATE John P Thompson
52 REBEL RAIDER Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas
53 RED COLOSSUS Greg Eurell
54 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent
55 ROCK KINGDOM Gai Waterhouse
56 ROTHESAY Gerald Ryan
57 RUN FOR NAARA John P Thompson
58 SASA Tim Martin
59 SHAMROCKER (NZ) Danny O’Brien
60 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh
61 SHOOT OUT John Wallace
62 SKOROST Bart Cummings
63 SMALL MINDS John P Thompson
64 SMOKIN’ JOEY Lee Freedman
65 SNAPY HALO (ARG) John O’Shea
66 SNIPER’S BULLET Tracey Bartley
67 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings
69 STERLING PRINCE (NZ) Wayne Hillis
70 THE HOMBRE John Bary
71 THE RUFFIAN Lee Freedman
72 THESEO Gai Waterhouse
73 TOORAK TOFF Rick Hore-Lacy
74 TRADER Anthony Cummings
75 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Chris Waller
76 TRUSTING John P Thompson
77 TURNSTILES (NZ) Anthony Cummings
78 TYPHOON TRACY Peter G Moody
79 VALDEMORO Tony Vasil
80 VIGOR (NZ) Danny O’Brien
81 VOSNE ROMANEE (NZ) Jeff Lynds
82 WALL STREET (NZ) Jeff Lynds
83 WHOBEGOTYOU Mark Kavanagh
84 WOORIM Robert Heathcote
85 YOSEI Stuart Webb
86 ZABRASIVE (NZ) John O’Shea
87 ZANTELAGH Mark Kavanagh
88 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings
89 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field