Balaklava Cup

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

The 2015 Balaklava Cup is a Listed mile event held at Balaklava Racecourse.

The 2015 Balaklava Cup is one of the biggest races held at Balaklava. Raced over 1600 metres, the Balaklava Cup is well attended by quality horses and racegoers alike and is usually held in late August or early September.

Held under Quality Handicap conditions and open to entrants of all sexes and ages, the Balaklava Cup attracts a fairly decent field each year. With $80,000 total prize money, it’s fairly lucrative for a listed race. The Balaklava Cup has a reputation well in excess of its listed status. It is the largest country racing meet in South Australia and draws some of the best country horses from both South Australia and Victoria, as well as some decent metropolitan runners.

Horses generally target the Balaklava Cup following good shows in black-type events at more prestigious racecourses. Those horses that excel in the Balaklava Cup are likely to continue on to similar events such as the Murray Bridge Gold Cup.

The 2015 Balaklava Cup will be run on Wednesday September 2nd.

2015 Balaklava Cup
Date: September 2nd, 2015
Racecourse: Balaklava Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $80,000

2015 Balaklava Cup Field

The 2015 Balaklava Cup field always contains a couple of standout performers.

Balaklava Cup History

Balaklava Racecourse was established in 1903 and they’ve been racing there in some form or another ever since. Balaklava Cup Day is usually attended by a very healthy crowd of around 12,000 people, making it one of the most successful regional meets in the country.

Over the years, the Balaklava Cup has gradually evolved. The decision was made at one point to reduce the event from a staying race (which is usually the case for Cup events) to a mile event in order to allow more horses to target it as part of their spring campaigns.

Notable Balaklava Cup winners include My Golden Bracelet (2000), Roman Arch (2003) and Gris Caro (2013). Balaklava Cup results since 2000 are listed below.

Balaklava Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Balaklava Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Balaklava Cup
1st Longshoreman 1 minute 36.08 seconds
2nd Justify That
3rd Albonetti
Balaklava Cup
1st Gris Caro 1 minute 35.95 seconds
2nd Detox
3rd Baby Boy
Balaklava Cup
1st Bagman 1 minute 37.38 seconds
2nd Road Warrior
3rd Light Tan
Balaklava Cup
1st Magical Pearl 1 minute 36.11 seconds
2nd Candle
3rd Silent Surround
Balaklava Cup
1st Haddle McDaddle 1 minute 37.81 seconds
2nd Silent Sophia
3rd Xaieta
Balaklava Cup
1st Alcopop 1 minute 34.56 seconds
2nd Steel My Heart
3rd Aztec Smytzer
Balaklava Cup
1st Life To The Full 1 minute 35.30 seconds
2nd Aztec Smytzer
3rd Steel My Heart
Balaklava Cup
1st Road Worker 1 minute 35.90 seconds
2nd Keltah
3rd Merlot Now
Balaklava Cup
1st Pride Of Archway 1 minute 35.40 seconds
2nd Jaffa Jonnie
3rd On A Jeune
Balaklava Cup
1st Civil 1 minute 37.84 seconds
2nd Stamen
3rd Kehlstein
Balaklava Cup
1st Lord Mick 1 minute 35.72 seconds
2nd Capo Del Opo
3rd Roman Arch
Balaklava Cup
1st Roman Arch 1 minute 39.5 seconds
2nd Cumbria
3rd Sciatica
Balaklava Cup
1st Chading 1 minute 36.62 seconds
2nd Border Time
3rd Terminus Prince
Balaklava Cup
1st Easy Landing 1 minute 36.97 seconds
2nd Roralism
3rd At Risk
Balaklava Cup
1st My Golden Bracelet 1 minute 39.54 seconds
2nd More Action
3rd Mr Selby

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field