Carlyon Stakes

The Group 2 Carlyon Stakes was a weight-for-age race held in January as the first major race for the Moonee Valley Autumn Racing Carnival. In 2010 the Carlyon Stakes was renamed the Australia Stakes. For more information on this race please see Australia Stakes.

Carlyon Stakes History

Originally a Listed race, the Carlyon Stakes earned Group 3 status in 1990 until 1994 when it was again elevated to Group 2 status.

Also known as the Stanley Wootton Stakes, the event’s fastest winning time since 1988 was recorded by Hareeba in 1995 with 1 minute 8.8 seconds. The slowest time was 1 minute 12.8 seconds by All Our Mob in 1996.

Carlyon Stakes Winners Until 2009:

(For more recent winners please click the Australia Stakes link above)

Year Place Horse Time
Carlyon Stakes
1st Lucky Secret 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Light Fantastic
3rd Von Costa De Hero
Carlyon Stakes
1st Let Go Thommo 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Maldivian
3rd Casino Prince
Carlyon Stakes
1st El Segundo 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Cocinero
3rd Super Elegant
Carlyon Stakes
1st California Dane 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Virage De Fortune
3rd Casual Pass
Carlyon Stakes
1st Super Elegant 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Strikeline
3rd Ruben
Carlyon Stakes
1st Vocabulary 1 minute 11.5 seconds
2nd Super Elegant
3rd Confederate Kid
Carlyon Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Libidinious
3rd Pernod
Carlyon Stakes
1st Royal Code 1 minute 11 seconds
2nd Intelligent Star
3rd Ustinov
Carlyon Stakes
1st Piavonic 1 minute 11.8 seconds
2nd Ateates
3rd Le Zagaletta
Carlyon Stakes
1st Slavonic 1 minute 12.1 seconds
2nd Sports
3rd Le Zagaletta

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Final...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field