Blamey Stakes

Blamey Stakes News

2016 Blamey Stakes Winner He Or She onto Doncaster Mile

2016 Blamey Stakes Winner He Or She onto Doncaster Mile

Lindsay Park horseman David Hayes is looking to back up the stable’s Blamey Stakes 2016 winner from ‘Super SaturdayHe Or She up in Sydney during ‘The Championships’ targeting the Doncaster Mile with the former Perth galloper.

Lindsay Park’s Blamey Stakes winner in Melbourne He Or She heads towards the 2016 Doncaster Mile in Sydney on ...

The 2016 Blamey Stakes is a Group 2 set weight and penalties race held at Flemington Racecourse in early March. Raced over a 1600m distance, the Blamey Stakes is worth $200,000 in prize money during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival. The ideal lead-up race to the Blamey Stakes is the Group 3 Carlyon Cup (1400m).

The 2016 Blamey Stakes will run on Saturday March 12th, 2016 alongside the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap and the Group 1 Australian Cup.

Blamey Stakes
Date: March 12th, 2016
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: Open Set Weights & Penalties
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Blamey Stakes Field

The Blamey Stakes field attracts some of the top milers that are currently on the racing circuit. As a relatively major Autumn feature race, the Blamey Stakes field is usually filled out with quality types in the midst of their Autumn campaigns.

The 2016 Blamey Stakes field is provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11x2x7x586 TRUST IN A GUST Darren Weir Damian Lane 11 59kg 110
2 x731310x72 STRATUM STAR Darren Weir Mark Zahra 7 58kg 110
3 60x900x2x0 LIDARI (FR) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 6 58kg 103
4 41381104×0 DIGITALISM John Sadler Michael Dee (a) 8 58kg 97
5 0x122610x5 THE UNITED STATES (IRE) Robert Hickmott Hugh Bowman 3 58kg 104
6 60x2357x09 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 9 57kg 104
7 1x67x1x0x0 OBSERVATIONAL (GB) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 5 57kg 97
8 57x157x80x GUARDINI (FR) Lee & Anthony Freedman James Winks 10 56kg 102
9 12314410×5 KENJORWOOD Peter G Moody Luke Currie 2 55kg 100
10 8x52415x20 HE OR SHE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Craig Williams 4 55kg 96
11 x5x3673x76 MANNDAWI (FR) Darren Weir Ben Melham 1 55kg 96

2016 Blamey Stakes Nominations

The Blamey Stakes nominations are announced on the Monday prior to the race, giving racing fans a bit of time to make ante-post bets and agonise over the final inclusions in the field. As a result of the race’s importance in the Autumn racing carnival, the 2016 Blamey Stakes nominations tend to draw horses with a strong chance of campaign success.

The 2016 Blamey Stakes nominations will be published here.

Blamey Stakes History

First won by Prince Cortauld in 1955, the Blamey Stakes was originally a weight-for-age race until 1980. Between 1955 and 1972, the Blamey Stakes was a 10 furlong (2000m) before changing to 1600m.

Since 1988 the fastest winning time recorded for the Blamey Stakes was 1 minute 33.8 seconds by Rosden in 2006. The slowest winning time was 1 minute 38.1 seconds in 2009 by Largo Lad.

The Blamey Stakes is a popular race for horses to win more than once with several horses managing the double victory including Sailor’s Guide (1957,58), Dhaulagiri (1961-62), Tobin Bronze (1966-67), Hyperno (1980-81), Vo Rogue (1988-89), Better Loosen Up (1990-91) and Durbridge (1994-95).

Recent Blamey Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Blamey Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Blamey Stakes
1st He Or She 1 minute 34.9 seconds
2nd The United States
3rd Stratum Star
Blamey Stakes
1st Suavito 1 minute 35.97 seconds
2nd Sertorius
3rd Kourkam
Blamey Stakes
1st Lidari 1 minute 38.1 seconds
2nd Foundry
3rd Sertorius
Blamey Stakes
1st (DH) Puissance De Lune 1 minute 36.4 seconds
1st (DH) Budriguez
3rd Wall Street
Blamey Stakes
1st Green Moon 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd Pied A Terre
3rd Wall Street
Blamey Stakes
1st Whobegotyou 1 minute 36.5 seconds
2nd Dao Dao
3rd Fanjura
Blamey Stakes
1st Lord Tavistock 1 minute 36.3 seconds
2nd Vigor
3rd Dao Dao
Blamey Stakes
1st Lord Tavistock 1 minute 36.37 seconds
2nd Vigor
3rd Dao Dao
Blamey Stakes
1st Largo Lad 1 minute 38.1 seconds
2nd Playright
3rd Just Look
Blamey Stakes
1st The Fuzz 1 minute 36.9 seconds
2nd Barlinnie
3rd Orange County
Blamey Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 37.7 seconds
2nd Bon Hoffa
3rd Molotov
Blamey Stakes
1st Rosden 1 minute 33.8 seconds
2nd Great Is Great
3rd Roman Arch
Blamey Stakes
1st Grey Song 1 minute 33.9 seconds
2nd Roman Arch
3rd Gallic
Blamey Stakes
1st Gold Wells 1 minute 36.2 seconds
2nd Lord Erin
3rd Pretorius
Blamey Stakes
1st Walk On Air 1 minute 35.1 seconds
2nd Mr Murphy
3rd Mr Magoo
Blamey Stakes
1st Tears Royal 1 minute 37.2 seconds
2nd Weasel Will
3rd Consular
Blamey Stakes
1st Market Price 1 minute 37.4 seconds
2nd Emission
3rd Second Coming
Blamey Stakes
1st Oliver Twist 1 minute 35.2 seconds
2nd Royal Voyage
3rd Noircir