Victoria Derby History & Records

Victoria Derby History

The Victoria Derby was first run in 1885, when Rose of May won, making it one of Australia’s oldest flat races.

It started as a principal race run over 12 furlongs. The race distance was converted to 2400m in 1972 to conform to the metric system. The following year the length was increased 100m to its current distance of 2500m for safety reasons, as the previous length meant runners didn’t have enough distance between the start and first turn on the track. Not long after in 1979 the Victoria Derby acquired Group 1 status.

Colts and geldings have dominated the Victoria Derby Results over the years, despite the first three winners all being fillies, with Frances Tressady back in 1923 being the last female to claim victory. The best staying three-year-olds of the season are instead now saved for a run five days later in the Group 1 Crown Oaks (2500m) on the third day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Many Victoria Derby winners have gone on to become champions of the Australian Turf, including Nothin’ Leica Dane (1995) who ran second in the Melbourne Cup the following Tuesday, Elvstroem (2003) who claimed victory in the following year’s Caulfield Cup, and the great grey stayer Efficient who won the VRC Derby in 2006 and then secured a Melbourne Cup success the next year.

Only one horse in the races’ long history has won two Victoria Derbies, Fireworks won the race two years in succession in 1867 and 1868.

Victoria Derby Records:

Time Record:
2:33.60 set by Star Of The Real in 1991
Most Successful Jockey:
Bobby Lewis rode 8 Victoria Derby Winners – Maltster (1900), Hautvillers (1901), Sylvantie (1904), Alawa (1908), Wolawa (1912), Carlita (1914), Furious (1921) and Trivalve (1927).
Most Successful Trainer:
James Scobie trained 8 Victoria Derby Winners – Malster (1900), Hautvillers (1901), F.J.A. (1903), Sylvantie (1904), Alawa (1908), Wolawa (1912), Trivalve (1927) and Hua (1937).

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?