2017 Prime Minister’s Cup Winner Religify for Waller

Sydney’s best Chris Waller continued his dominant Queensland Winter Racing Carnival record enjoying an A.D. Hollindale Stakes Day win with Religify in the Prime Minister’s Cup 2017.

Hugh Bowman

Hugh Bowman made it three wins from as many rides at the Gold Coast on Saturday aboard Religify in the 2017 Prime Minister’s Cup. Photo: Sarah Ebbett.

The punters came for the Choisir six-year-old in a big way in pre-race betting on the $100,000 Listed Prime Minister’s Cup (1400m) and were rewarded thanks to a gun ride by jockey Hugh Bowman.

Celebrating his third win from as many rides on the card following earlier success aboard Taking Aim in the Ken Russell Memorial Classic and Dawn Wall in the Gold Coast Bracelet, Bowman was away brilliantly from the barriers on Religify in the fifth.

It was the Harold Norman-trained Lucky Tom who went out to the big early lead setting the pace from the local Jet Spur six-year-old Siegfried coming off a Doomben win over 1350m from April 15 over Sir Moments.

Religify meanwhile settled third on the fence in a gun position, Bowman reading the pace of the race and biding his time with the top fancy.

Around the bend and into the home straight, jockey Jeff Lloyd went for home on the consistent Siegfried who beat off Lucky Tom and drew to a two length lead with 200m left to travel.

Quickly on the scene giving chase though was Religify and Bowman up on the inside after the front runner.

Having saved energy early, Religify had enough in the tank to get there in a thrilling final stride victory up on the fence to beat a gallant Siegfried by a neck.

Rounding out the Prime Minister’s Cup trifecta in the exact order of the odds was then the Godolphin-raced Federal second-up after a sixth to Redzel at Randwick in the Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes (1200m).

The upcoming options are open for Religify in Brisbane over the coming weeks, the galloper nominated for the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) at Eagle Farm on June 10 and set to firm in futures betting on the festival’s richest race.

Back the next Queensland Winter Racing Carnival winner at the hottest odds online now at Ladbrokes.com.au – home of the best early 2017 Stradbroke Handicap betting.

2017 Prime Minister’s Cup Results & Finishing Order

Gold Coast Race 5 – 06/05/2017

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 2 RELIGIFY Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 5 59kg $2.70F
2 4 SIEGFRIED Toby Edmonds Jeff Lloyd 0.3L 9 55.5kg $5
3 3 FEDERAL John O’Shea Tye Angland 2.8L 11 57.5kg $4.40
4 9 LUCKY TOM Harold Norman Ms Tegan Harrison 3.2L 8 54kg $31
5 5 CASUAL CHOICE Tony Gollan Robbie Fradd 4.2L 6 54.5kg $18
6 7 BEATNIKS Steven O’dea Paul Hammersley 4.3L 7 54kg $17
7 8 JOPA Robert Heathcote Ms Bridget Grylls 5.3L 3 54kg $19
8 10 TRUBIA Michael Lakey James Orman 5.5L 1 54kg $19
9 1 ADDICTIVE HABIT (NZ) Lee Somervell Michael Cahill 7L 4 60.5kg $51
10 13 ROUND MOUNTAIN GAL Philip Kimmet Andrew Spinks 7.2L 2 54kg $71
11 12 KUZNETSOVA Ben Currie Josh Oliver 7.4L 10 54kg $15
12 11 SAGA MISS Peter & Will Hulbert Micheal Hellyer 10.2L 12 54kg $61
6 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff Jim Byrne 0


Have your say, post a comment.