2017 Sydney Cup Results: Polarisation Wins Again

April 24, 2017

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2017 Sydney Cup Results: Polarisation Wins Again

Over the weekend at Royal Randwick jockey Corey Brown repeated his Sydney Cup 2017 winning ride on the Charlie Appleby-trained UK raider Polarisation who enjoyed success in “take-two” of the two mile classic.


Sydney Cup 2017 winner Polarisation handed UK-based Godolphin trainer Charlie Appleby a Group 1 win in NSW over the weekend. Photo: Steve Hart.

A fortnight ago Brown rode the Godolphin-raced Polarisation to “win” the subsequently voided edition of the $2 million Group 1 Schweppes Sydney Cup (3200m).

The autumn feature of Day 2 of ‘The Championships’ from April 8 was declared a no-race due to the tragic race fall of Almoonqith.

Polarisation though proved to be the superior stayer in the re-run, this time holding off a gallant late challenge from the other horse involved in the heavy fall two weeks back Who Shot Thebarman.

Despite having to shift in the run down the straight, Echo Of Light gelding Polarisation officially won the Sydney Cup by a neck over Chris Waller’s always honest eight-year-old Who Shot Thebarman.

Saturday was the fourth straight year the Kiwi-bred Who Shot Thebarman contested the race and he netted his second runners-up title after an earlier narrow loss to stablemate Grand Marshal in 2015.

The late challenges came from Who Shot Thebarman along with Darren Weir’s Sydney Cup favourite Big Duke, who also had his chance at running down the eventual winner before crossing under a length away for third.

All honours though went to Polarisation who outstayed his competition and earned a likely shot at the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November.

Makybe Diva (2004) was the last stayer to win the Sydney Cup – Melbourne Cup double in a single calendar year.

Brown was vocal in his disappointment two weeks ago about the decision to call off the original running of the Sydney Cup, but was happy to take out top honours again in the official re-run.

“They can’t take it off us this time,” he told the media on Saturday.

“If they want to run this race a third time, he would win it again.

“I told them they should have left it a fortnight ago because it’s going to be the same result so this is very satisfying.

“Obviously with all the media and the drama of a fortnight ago, to come out again and I wouldn’t say defy all odds, but the history of it, I felt everything was working against us.

“It is a big relief and to do in these famous royal blue colours of Godolphin is a dream come true.”

Brown celebrated his second Sydney Cup victory having previously ridden Mr. Prudent to victory back in 2001.

Blake Shinn was aboard the runner-up Who Shot Thebarman and said only the galloper’s 57kg top weight compared to the 51.5kg of the winner got him beaten.

“He had every chance,” Shinn said.

“[He] travelled like the winner, the winner just had 51.5kg, the telling factor. Brave run.”

Singapore-based jockey Glen Boss flew in for the ride on Weir’s Sydney Cup favourite Big Duke after the suspension of Craig Williams and said post-win that the horse simply wound-up too late.

“I thought I was the winner at the top of the straight but he just peaked late,” Boss said.

Pre-nomination Melbourne Cup odds at Ladbrokes.com.au on the world’s richest handicap race currently have the Sydney Cup winner Polarisation listed as a $26 shot so, visit them today for access to the top upcoming Group 1 racing markets.

2017 Sydney Cup Results & Finishing Order

Randwick Race 8 – 22/04/2017

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 14 POLARISATION (GB) Charlie Appleby Corey Brown 6 51.5kg $6.50
2 1 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 0.2L 13 57kg $12
3 6 BIG DUKE (IRE) Darren Weir Glen Boss 0.7L 2 52kg $3.70F
4 8 ANNUS MIRABILIS (IRE) Stuart Webb Dean Holland 6.1L 4 52kg $31
5 5 CHANCE TO DANCE (IRE) Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards Christian Reith 6.2L 3 53kg $19
6 7 HARLEM (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Chad Schofield 6.4L 7 52kg $17
7 10 PENGLAI PAVILION (USA) Charlie Appleby Kerrin McEvoy 7.9L 14 52kg $5.50
8 9 MISTER IMPATIENCE (GB) Michael Moroney Jay Ford 10.6L 5 52kg $61
9 11 KINEMA (IRE) Chris Waller Tim Clark 11.5L 12 52kg (cd 52.5kg) $21
10 3 TALLY John O’Shea Tommy Berry 11.6L 1 55kg $12
11 4 BOOM TIME David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 31.1L 9 53.5kg $11
12 12 LASQUETI SPIRIT Lee Curtis Bobby El-Issa 40.2L 8 51.5kg $19
13 13 PENTATHLON (NZ) John Wheeler Jeff Penza 69.9L 11 51.5kg $41
FF 2 LIBRAN (IRE) Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 10 56.5kg $19
16e SELF SENSE David Brideoake 0
15e ROCK ON (NZ) John Sargent Jeff Penza 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field