2016 Thousand Guineas Field Features Foxplay

October 4, 2016

2016 Thousand Guineas Field Features Foxplay

Chris Waller’s in-form filly Foxplay is one of the headline acceptances for the Thousand Guineas 2016 field running at Caulfield Racecourse this Saturday in Melbourne.


The in-form Chris Waller-trained Foxplay heads south for Saturday’s 2016 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. Photo: Steve Hart.

Four Group 1 races take place for Caulfield Guineas Day including the $500,000 Group 1 Schweppes Thousand Guineas (1600m) that has attracted a line-up of 15 three-year-old fillies.

Coming off back-to-back wins in Sydney having completed the Group 2 Furious Stakes (1200m) – Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes (1400m) at Randwick is Waller’s daughter of Foxwedge Foxplay.

She bypassed last Saturday’s Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m) in favour of this trip south, but the past three Thousand Guineas winners that came off a non-Melbourne lead-up ran in the Flight Stakes: Mnemosyne (34d in 2005), Yosei (6th in 2010) and Guelph (1st in 2013).

Waller chases his second Thousand Guineas victory after preparing Amicus (2014) for her victory two years ago.

This year Gai Waterhouse won her ninth Flight Stakes with Global Glamour who is accepted for the quick back-up chasing the Group 1 interstate double on Saturday.

The Star Witness filly beat home Yankee Rose by a half-length last Saturday and on Saturday jockey Kerrin McEvoy is booked for the ride after his second Flight Stakes victory.

The other last start winners in the Thousand Guineas field this spring are the Stuart Webb-trained Legless Veuve, Henry Dwyer’s local hope Leotie and the Lindsay Park-trained Harlow Glow who all come off back-to-back victories.

Pins filly Legless Veuve took out the Group 2 Caulfield Guineas Prelude (1400m) a fortnight back and is looking for the double most recently achieved by Irish Lights (2009).

The past two Thousand Guineas winners were both Prelude graduates – Amicus (2nd in 2014) and Stay With Me (6th in 2015).

The other best out of the Prelude this season running in Saturday’s Group 1 are the New Zealand visitor La Luna Rossa (2nd) for Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman, New Approach filly Sword Of Light (3rd), the Shane Nichols-trained I Am A Star (4th), Sebring Dream (5th), Missrock (6th), Whispering Brook (7th) and Samara Dancer (8th).

Leotie rises in class here after winning successive Benchmark 78 races at Caulfield and Bendigo, while last year’s winning training duo of David Hayes & Tom Dabernig have accepted for both the aforementioned Harlow Gold who saluted over the Caulfield mile on September 17 and Sebring Dream.

Check out the full Thousand Guineas 2016 field of final acceptances below, the barrier draw set to take place at 10:45am (AEDT) this morning.

Before then make sure you’ve got an account open and ready to go at Ladbrokes.com.au this weekend – home of Odds Boost (T&Cs apply).

2016 Thousand Guineas Final Field

Caulfield Racecourse – 08/10/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Wgt. Hcp. Ratingm
1 1x1111x27 WHISPERING BROOK Simon A Miller Nicholas Hall 55.5kg 85
2 139x1x66 MISSROCK Robbie Laing Dwayne Dunn 55.5kg 81
3 1×361 GLOBAL GLAMOUR Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Kerrin McEvoy 55.5kg 102
4 54x212x11 FOXPLAY Chris Waller TBA 55.5kg 88
5 611×154 I AM A STAR (NZ) Shane Nichols Steven King 55.5kg 81
6 23511×22 LA LUNA ROSSA (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Damien Oliver 55.5kg 85
7 1x10x38 SAMARA DANCER (NZ) Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 55.5kg 78
8 72×11 LEGLESS VEUVE (NZ) Stuart Webb Mark Zahra 55.5kg 82
9 1108×2503 SWORD OF LIGHT Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 55.5kg 75
10 9×1211 LEOTIE Henry Dwyer Chris Parnham 55.5kg 77
11 21×55 SEBRING DREAM David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Michael Walker 55.5kg 69
12 3×611 HARLOW GOLD (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss (a) 55.5kg 69
13 29×45 SMART AMELIA James Cummings James McDonald 55.5kg 65
14 7x1x280 PEEKING DUCK Trent Pennuto Craig Newitt 55.5kg 63
15 83×95475 FROMPARIS WITHLOVE Leon & Troy Corstens Ben E Thompson (a) 55.5kg 62

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?