2015 Spear Chief Handicap Winner Frespanol Scores Narrowly

May 30, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2015 Spear Chief Handicap Winner Frespanol Scores Narrowly

Gai Waterhouse’s in-form favourite Frespanol scored a narrow but still convincing win in the Spear Chief Handicap 2015 in Brisbane on Queensland Oaks Day for the galloper’s first win this time in.


2015 Spear Chief Handicap favourite Frespanol scores a narrow win in the Queensland Oaks Day feature at Doomben. Photo: Daniel Costello.

The money was strong for the four-year-old Choisir gelding who was last seen running second to Tales Of Grimm in the Listed Scone Cup (1600m) on May 15.

At Doomben Racecourse for the first time, the Scone Cup form stacked up through Frespanol who was ridden by Kerrin McEvoy in the $100,000 Listed James Boag’s Premium Spear Chief Handicap (1630m).

McEvoy didn’t panic early on the favourite who was worse than midfield trying to slip in towards the back as Tony Gollan’s on-pace Snitzel mare Tornado Miss led them round trying to lead all the way in the handicap clash.

Also right up on the speed was the Andrew Williamson-trained six-year-old Darci Be Good who was quick away from a gun barrier two draw with top Queensland hoop Damian Browne in the saddle.

Browne settled the last start Sunshine Coast runner-up over 1800m in behind Tornado Miss while Billy Aucash raced third on the inside ahead of the Brian Wakefield-trained Grayson Square who had Glen Colless in the saddle.

The runners in the Spear Chief held their positions right into the straight when Frespanol began his run down the outside picking up those in front after cantering up to join Tornado Miss and Darci Be Good in a line of three as they ran towards the finish close together.

It was a nice patient ride by McEvoy and there was nothing in the winning margin.

On the line the favourite Frespanol ($2.20), who never showed any real cause for concern, held on by the skin of his teeth to salute at the short price finishing over the top of the long-priced Tornado Miss ($26) with Darci Be Good ($9.50) in third in the centre.

Tornado Miss fought back right till the final stride but didn’t have the class of the solid Spear Chief Handicap winner who the bookies and punters had picked out right from the start.

A possible next-up target for the top runners in the Spear Chief Handicap should connections wish to back-up their horses is Saturday week’s $100,000 Listed Wayne Wilson Mile (1600m) back at Doomben on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

The race, formerly known as the Strawberry Road Handicap, was contested last year by the Spear Chief Handicap third placed Choice Bro who was runner-up to Transporter before a trip up north when third to Vandalised in the Rockhampton Cup.

Now is the ideal time to discover the benefits of betting online by heading to Ladbrokes.com.au who are offering Best Tote or SP + 20% on your winnings for this afternoon’s Queensland Oaks!

2015 Spear Chief Handicap Results & Finishing Order

Doomben Race 3 – 30/05/2015

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight SP
1 6 FRESPANOL Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 9 54kg $2.05F
2 12 TORNADO MISS Tony Gollan Timothy Bell 0.1L 5 54kg $26
3 2 DARCI BE GOOD (NZ) Andrew Williamson Damian Browne 0.2L 2 56kg $9.50
4 7 TRAKSTAR Tony Gollan Jim Byrne 1.2L 6 54kg $8
5 9 ELUSIVE STORM (NZ) Brian Smith Larry Cassidy 2.2L 8 54kg $41
6 8 BILLY AUCASH Brian Smith Samuel Payne (a) 2.4L 1 54kg $26
7 5 GRAYSON SQUARE (NZ) Brian Wakefield Glen Colless 2.6L 3 54kg $11
8 3 CHOICE BRO Tony Sears Paul Hammersley 3.4L 10 54kg $11
9 4 BLACK JET Liam Birchley Jeff Lloyd 3.7L 7 54kg $8
10 1 BANCA MO Bevan Laming Michael Cahill 5.7L 4 59kg $16
10 ZOOMANIA (NZ) Tony Gollan 0
11 GREAT ESTEEM Peter & Paul Snowden Tommy Berry 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field