2015 Doncaster Mile Barrier Draw: Favourites Out Wide

The two early favourites for Saturday’s Doncaster Mile 2015 at Randwick Racecourse, Real Impact and Hallowed Crown, have suffered a blow drawing wide with barriers 21 and 23 respectively in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival classic.

Hallowed Crown

Hallowed Crown has drawn wide but is still one of the best backed runners to win the 2015 Doncaster Mile in Sydney this weekend. Photo: Steve Hart.

A capacity field of 20 starters plus four emergencies line-up in the 150th edition of the $3 million Group 1 The Star Doncaster Mile (1600m) this weekend for the feature race on Day 1 of The Championships.

The duo leading the pre-field Doncaster Mile odds at Ladbrokes.com.au however could be forced to go wide and lead from the front come Saturday with Japan’s Real Impact and gun three-year-old Hallowed Crown both drawing nasty gates.

Even with all the emergencies coming out the pair will be wide in the field of 20 with Real Impact coming into 18 and the Bart & James Cummings-trained Hallowed Crown into 20.

Barrier 18 hasn’t produced a Doncaster Mile winner in the past three decades while we have to go back to 1990 for Super Impose’s first of two Doncaster Mile victories to find the last champ to do it from gate 20.

Despite the wide barrier Hallowed Crown has moved into top spot in the updated Doncaster Mile odds and is followed by second emergency Kermadec who is being kept safe in betting despite the Chris Waller-trained colt, drawn in 19, far from assured a run in Saturday’s major.

Gate 18 is one of four hoodoo Doncaster Mile barriers in the past 30 odd years producing no winners along with two, three and 15.

Currently the other historically-poor gates in the race belong this year to Happy Trails (2), Leebaz (3) and Cosmic Endeavour (15).

Tommy Berry who won the Doncaster Mile two years ago rides Hallowed Crown, while last start George Ryder Stakes winner Real Impact has James McDonald staying on after the duo won the 1500m Group 1 on March 21 in the galloper’s maiden run down under.

The most successful Doncaster Mile barrier (since 1983) with a total of five winners is barrier 12, most recently producing Vison And Power (2009) for the win who was also the last horse to complete the George Ryder Stakes – Doncaster Mile double in a single season.

This year barrier 12 was drawn by the John Thompson-trained Hooked but with the emergencies out will belong to Gai Waterhouse’s star French import Pornichet (13) to be ridden by Kerrin McEvoy chasing his first Doncaster win.

Waterhouse meanwhile is out to surpass her father TJ Smith who she shares the current record of seven Doncaster Mile wins as she chases an eighth victory in 2015.

Pornichet gets in on 51kg and earned his spot in the field with an impressive one and three-quarter length victory in last weekend’s Group 3 Sellwood Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill.

The next most successful Doncaster Mile barrier in that time with four winners, including Rangirangdoo (2010) and More Joyous (2012) in the past half a decade, is 10.

Barrier 10 is drawn currently by Peter Moody’s lightly-weighted Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) winning mare Plucky Belle (50kg) but with the emergencies out has Moriarty’s name on it.

Last year’s Doncaster Mile winner Sacred Falls, who also won in 2013 and is out to become the first triple winner of the handicap classic in history drawn in barrier 20 with the 58kg top weight in 2015, jumped from barrier 13.

As mentioned above, Waterhouse’s Pornichet has barrier 13 currently but it will be stablemate Cosmic Endeavour (currently in 15) who gets the gate with the emergencies taken out of the mix.

Waterhouse has a total of three runners in this year’s race with her recent Canterbury Stakes winner Cosmic Endeavour, out to improve on a last in the George Ryder Stakes last time out, and Pornichet joined in the line-up by Diamond Drille.

Third to Plucky Belle in the Coolmore last start, Al Maher mare Diamond Drille has a horror barrier 22 draw to overcome with Frenchman Thomas Huet booked for the ride.

Three Doncaster Mile runners’ jockeys meanwhile have been allowed to ride half-a-kilo above their mount’s allocated weight with Dwayne Dunn (Ninth Legion), Craig Williams (It’s Somewhat) and Corey Brown (Suavito).

Suavito, who will now carry 50.5kg, has won her past four consecutive starts including the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield last month and the Group 2 Blamey Stakes (1600m) at Flemington on March 14.

She came up trumps with the inside alley for Saturday’s major, the four-year-old Thorn Park mare looking to be the first Doncaster Mile winner from barrier one since Glen Boss won aboard Haradasun in 2007 during a three-straight winning streak in the race for Boss.

See below for the full Doncaster Mile 2015 field, barriers, jockeys and weights.

Then head over to Ladbrokes.com.au for the hottest odds on the big one in Sydney on Saturday!

2015 Doncaster Mile Final Field & Barrier Draw

Randwick Race 9 (5:10pm) – 04/04/2015

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 2x44140x50 SACRED FALLS (NZ) Chris Waller Zac Purton 20 58kg 116
2 820561×623 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Damien Oliver 2 56.5kg 113
3 5x15x084x0 WORLD ACE (JPN) Yasutoshi Ikee Nicholas Hall 16 55.5kg 111
4 x89x0x61x1 REAL IMPACT (JPN) Noriyuki Hori James McDonald 21 55kg 110
5 55610831×8 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller TBA 11 54.5kg 109
6 5x22220x74 ROYAL DESCENT Chris Waller Joao Moreira 18 54kg 112
7 x7334x1272 NINTH LEGION Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 8 52.5kg 105
8 1812731804 PUCCINI (NZ) Peter & Jacob McKay Craig Newitt 17 52.5kg 105
9 13111×4210 COSMIC ENDEAVOUR Gai Waterhouse Tim Clark 15 52kg 108
10 11x114x113 HALLOWED CROWN Bart & James Cummings Tommy Berry 23 52kg 105
11 x471315x47 HOOKED John P Thompson Dom Tourneur 12 52kg 104
12 5373350×19 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Craig Williams 4 51.5kg (inc. 1.0kg penalty) 101
13 41x879x803 DIAMOND DRILLE Gai Waterhouse Thomas Huet 22 51kg 106
14 139x41x951 PORNICHET (FR) Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 13 51kg 102
15 15565×4706 DESTINY’S KISS Joseph Pride 9 51kg 102
16 1112x10x86 ARABIAN GOLD David Vandyke Chad Schofield 5 50.5kg 105
17 1212x84x63 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes TBA 3 50.5kg 101
18 0x2211x288 RUDY Helen Page Luke Tarrant (a) 6 50.5kg 101
19 x12N311x11 SUAVITO (NZ) Nigel Blackiston Corey Brown 1 50kg 100
20 x24280x621 PLUCKY BELLE Peter G Moody Ms Kathy O’Hara 10 50kg 99
21e x11138x224 SWEYNESSE John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 7 50kg 101
22e 121×4343 KERMADEC (NZ) Chris Waller Glen Boss 19 50kg 99
23e 27x1080x57 AOMEN (IRE) Anthony Cummings TBA 14 50kg 100
24e 3480×50466 MALAVIO Steve Englebrecht TBA 24 50kg 100


Have your say, post a comment.