The BMW Nominations – Golden Slipper Day 2011

February 2, 2011

The BMW Nominations – Golden Slipper Day 2011


Maluckyday is sure to be a favourite for the 2011 The BMW and throughout the Autumn Racing Carnival

Nominations for the $2.25 million Group 1 The BMW (2400m) have been released with 75 gallopers entered for the Sydney Autumn Carnival weight-for-age feature due to run at Rosehill Racecourse on Saturday April 2.

One of the most lucrative and anticipated showdowns of the autumn racing season, the 2011 The BMW is one of the nine Group races that will light up the Rosehill track for Golden Slipper Stakes Day.

Notable 2011 The BMW Entries Include:

  • Anacheeva (Peter Moody) – Last year’s Caulfield Guineas winner, the Anabaa colt resumed racing in the Zedative Stakes on January 26 finishing seventh to Eclair Mystic
  • Eclair Surprise (Peter Moody) – Up-and-coming Blackfriars gelding won the Listed UCI Stakes (1800m) at Flemington on October 3 at just their third career start – also nominated for the Australian Guineas and Australian Cup
  • Zipping (Robert Hickmott) – Evergreen nine-year-old owned by Lloyd Williams, Danehill gelding Zipping won the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) during a successful spring last year that also included a record fourth consecutive victory in the Sandown Classic last start on November 13
  • Descarado (Gai Waterhouse) – Well-bred High Chaparral four-year-old and reigning Caulfield Cup winner who failed to finish last year’s Melbourne Cup
  • Ginga Dude (Graeme Boyd) – Kiwi stayer that was impressive during the 2010 Melbourne Cup Carnival, won the Group 3 David Jones Cup before finishing third in the Mackinnon, fourth in the Sandown and then third in their latest Group 1 race back in NZ
  • Illustrious Blue (David Payne) – Eight-year-old European import finished ninth in the Melbourne Cup last year behind Americain
  • Maluckyday (Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes) – Zabeel four-year-old that captured the nation last spring winning the Group 3 The Lexus Stakes (2500m) before finishing second to Americain in the 2010 Melbourne Cup – will be a favourite throughout the autumn
  • Zavite (Anthony Cummings) – Veteran stayer that finished second to Littorio in last year’s The BMW

Noteworthy omissions from the 2011 The BMW nominations include previous Melbourne Cup winner Shocking leaving trainer Mark Kavanagh without a chance in The BMW this year and last year’s Caulfield Cup runner-up Harris Tweed.

Also set to run at Rosehill on April 2 is the showcase Sydney race of the year, the $3.5 million Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m).

Golden Slipper second declarations were taken yesterday with 151 two-year-olds still vying for a spot in the 2011 Golden Slipper Stakes final field including Blue Diamond Stakes favourite Sepoy.

The final field for the Golden Slipper Day races 2011 including The BMW will be declared on Wednesday March 30.

The BMW betting will open later this month, so get ready for the elite racing action of the autumn by opening your account with Australia’s favourite online bookmaker Luxbet today!

2011 The BMW Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 AKZAR (IRE) Robert Hickmott
2 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens
4 ANACHEEVA Peter G Moody
5 AT FIRST SIGHT (IRE) Robert Hickmott
6 BECQU ADOREE (FR) Peter G Moody
7 BEIJING BOY (NZ) Chris Waller
8 BOOMING (NZ) Jeff Lynds
9 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan
10 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott
11 CELTIC FANTASY Craig Ritchie
12 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
13 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
16 EMPIRES CHOICE (NZ) Bart Cummings
17 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes
18 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings
19 FANJURA (IRE) Lee Freedman
20 FUSAKEO Gai Waterhouse
21 GALIZANI John P Thompson
22 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd
23 GRAND DUCAL (IRE) Robert Hickmott
24 HANKS Peter G Moody
25 HAWK ISLAND (IRE) Chris Waller
26 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James
27 I THINK I DO Bart Cummings
28 I’M IMPOSING (GB) Robert Hickmott
30 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan
31 KEEP THE PEACE (NZ) Shaune Ritchie
32 KUDAKULARI (NZ) Bart Cummings
33 KUTCHINSKY Tony Noonan
34 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes
36 LIGHT BRIGADE Gai Waterhouse
37 LINTON Robert Hickmott
38 LORNE DANCER Gai Waterhouse
39 MACEDONIAN (NZ) Peter G Moody
40 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
41 MEAISIN (NZ) Danny O’Brien
42 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller
43 MISS KEEPSAKE (NZ) Joseph Pride
44 MONTGOMERY (NZ) Colin & Cindy Alderson
45 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher
46 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott
47 MR CHARLIE (NZ) Peter G Moody
48 MR PONZI (NZ) Joseph Pride
49 OCEAN DREAM Peter G Moody
50 ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse
51 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne
52 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings
53 RANCHERO (NZ) David Payne
54 REBEL SOLDIER (IRE) David Hayes
55 ROCKSTARDOM Danny O’Brien
56 ROMAN EMPEROR (NZ) Bart Cummings
57 RUNDLE Robert Hickmott
58 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
59 SANDBERG Guy Walter
60 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg
61 SEPTEMBER MORN (IRE) Robert Hickmott
62 SHOWCAUSE Frank Ritchie
63 SMALL MINDS John P Thompson
64 SOLID BILLING Craig Ritchie
65 SPEED GIFTED (GB) Lee Freedman
66 STAND TO GAIN (IRE) Chris Waller
67 STRIKE ONE (GB) Chris Waller
69 TRUSTING John P Thompson
70 VIGOR (NZ) Danny O’Brien
71 VISION AND POWER (NZ) Joseph Pride
72 WELL ROUNDED Lee Freedman
73 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings
74 ZEVADA (NZ) Tony Noonan
75 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott

Photo courtesy (c) Taron Clarke Photography

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field