2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

October 14, 2009

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

The barrier draw for the $2.5 million Caulfield Cup, was done this morning at the Caulfield Racecourse where the race will be held this Saturday.
First and second favourites for the 2400m race, Predatory Pricer ($6.50) and Vigor ($7) drew poorly in gate 16 and 22 respectively.

Two of the fancied international runners, Kirklees ($13) and Cima De Triomphe ($8) have increased their stocks drawing ideal gates seven and 11. Cima De Triomphe is now third favourite for the race with the bookies and punters and is trainer Luca Cumani’s best chance of Caulfield Cup success this year.

Bellow is the barrier draw for all 18 horses in the final field and the four emergencies.

BMW Caulfield Cup
Group 1
Saturday 17th October, 2009

#   Horse Trainer Barrier Weight Jockey
1 Viewed Bart Cummings 15 57 Brad Rawiller
2 Kirklees (IRE) Saeed bin Suroor 7 56 Kerrin McEvoy
3 C’est La Guerre (NZ) John Sadler 13 55.5 Steven Arnold
4 Cima De Triomphe (IRE) Luca Cumani 11 55.5 Damien Oliver
5 Fiumicino (NZ) Team Hawkes 20 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
6 Master O’Reilly (NZ) Danny O’Brien 18 55 Vlad Duric
7 Roman Emperor (NZ) Bart Cummings 5 54 Hugh Bowman
8 Sarrera Michael Moroney 10 54 Nicholas Hall
9 Predatory Pricer Paul Murray 16 53.5 Steven King
10 Red Ruler (NZ) John Sargent 14 53.5 Danny Nikolic
11 Zavite (NZ) Anthony Cummings 8 53 Mark Zahra
12 Harris Tweed (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker 2 52.5 Craig Newitt
13 Light Vision (NZ) Robert Smerdon 19 52.5 Luke Nolen
14 Daffodil (NZ) Kevin Gray 4 51.5 Chris Munce
15 Ready To Lift Gerald Ryan 12 51.5 Glen Boss
16 Red Lord Anthony Cummings 3 51.5 Glyn Schofield
17 Vigor (NZ) Danny O’Brien 22 51 Corey Brown
18 Allez Wonder Bart Cummings 6 50 Michelle Payne
19 Baughurst Bill and Symon Wilde 21 52.5 Ben Melham
20 Shocking Mark Kavanagh 17 51  
21 Newport Paul Perry 1 52.5 Peter Wells
22 Miss Darcey Anthony Cummings 9 50  

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field