2000 Guineas Stakes

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2000 Guineas Stakes ? Race Details:

Late April ? Early May
Track Location:
Rowley Mile Racecourse, Newmarket
Race Distance:
1 mile (1609metres)
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
Three-year-old Thoroughbred Colts & Fillies
?400 000

The 2000 Guineas Stakes is the first jewel in the highly esteemed Triple Crown in England. Raced over 1 mile at the Rowley Mile Racecourse at Newmarket in late April or early May annually, this Group 1 flat race is open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies, and excludes geldings. Wizard was the first winner of the 2000 Guineas Stakes on April 18 1809, which is one of the oldest UK races. The event is named in accordance to the original prize money offered which was 2000 guineas, stakes are now set at ?400 000.

The 2000 Guineas is the first of only five races in Great Britain elected as ?Classics?. All of these events are limited to three-year-old contenders and the Triple Crown series encompasses the three classics that are open to both colts and geldings, the 2000 Guineas, Epsom Derby and the St. Leger Stakes.

There are many important trial races held in the lead-up to the 2000 Guineas including the Craven Stakes (1 mile) and Greenham Stakes (7 furlongs) in mid April. Runners in the 2000 Guineas, however, don?t always choose to compete in these prep races with many horses having their last start before the first Triple Crown race the previous autumn. The last horse to contest the Greenham Stakes prior to winning the 2000 Guineas was Rodirgo de Triano (1992), who placed fourth. The Craven Stakes has been a better indication for the Guineas in recent years, with Haafhd (2004) claiming victory in both events.

Potential 2000 Guineas winners can also be found in the Group 1 two-year-old trail race, the Dewhurst Stakes (seven furlongs). When betting on the 2000 Guineas one of the key things to look for is the runner?s performance as two-year-olds in the short-distance flat races the previous season. Sprinters who display speed and power of stamina or staying ability see the most success, especially those with experience on the track at Rowley Mile.

The 2000 Guineas has been contested by fields of all sizes, the most runners to start was in 1930 with 28 horses. The fewest number of starters was in 1892 and 1830, which were both two-horse races. Colts have dominated in the 2000 Guineas in the last few decades, and Garden Path was the most recent filly to win in 1944.

Many champions of the English turf has claimed victory in the 2000 Guineas, including star gallopers Nashwan (1989), Dancing Brave (1986), Nijinsky (1970), Sir Ivor (1968) and Royal Palace (1967). Perhaps most famous of all is the 1971 winner Brigadier Gerard who continued on to win 17 of his 18 race starts in an amazing career that saw him be given a 144 rating, the second highest ever awarded. Recently the Aiden O?Brien Ballydoyle stable has lead the way in the 2000 Guineas training four of the last seven winners.

Lots of the 2000 Guineas runners continue their campaigns with a run in the next two legs of the Triple Crown. Besides these two events, the field that makes up the other Classic races of the season is often very similar to the 2000 Guineas. It is not just local horses contesting the Guineas, with lots of international competitors found amongst the line-up attracted to the status and prestige associated with the first English Classic race of the year.

2000 Guineas Stakes ? Records:

Race Record:
1:35.08 set by Mister Baileys in 1994
Largest Winning Margin:
Tudor Minstrel by 8 lengths in 1947
Longest-Priced Winner:
Rockavon at 66/1 in 1961
Shortest-Priced Winner:
St. Frusquin at 12/100 in 1896
Most Successful Jockey:
Jem Robinson won the 2000 Guineas an incredible 9 times with Enamel (1825), Cadland (1828), Riddlesworth (1831), Clearwell (1833), Glencoe (1834), Ibrahim (1835), Bay Middleton (1836), Conyngham (1847) and Flatcatcher (1848).
Most Successful Trainer:
John Scott claimed victory 7 times with Meteor (1842), Cotherstone (1843), Nunnykirk (1849), West Australian (1853), Fazzoletto (1856), The Wizard (1860) and The Marquis (1862).

2000 Guineas Stakes ? Recent Race Results:







Sea the Stars
Michael Kinane John Oxx Chirstopher Tsui 1:35.88
Johnny Murtagh Adian O’Brien Sue Magnier 1:39.14
Cockney Rebel
Olivier Preslier Geoff Guffer Phil Cunningham 1:35.28
George Washington
Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Magnier / Tabor / Smith 1:36.86
Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Tabor / Magnier 1:36.10
Richard Hills Barry Hills Hamdan Al Maktoum 1:36.64
Refuse To Bend
Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Moyglare Stud Farm 1:37.98
Rock of Gibraltar
Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Ferguson / Magnier 1:36.50
Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Lord Weinstock 1:37.48
King’s Best
Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 1:37.77

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field