English Triple Crown

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Every year the United Kingdom holds a series of Triple Crown events for three-year-olds and it is considered one of the nation’s most important and highly esteemed horse racing achievements to win the England Triple Crown. England was actually the first country to establish a Triple Crown when the term originated in 1853 with the horse West Australian winning the following three flat races.

The first leg in the English Triple Crown is the 2000 Guineas Stakes. Run over 1 mile at Newmarket Racecourse in Suffolk in late April or early May, the race is worth £400 000.

The second jewel in the Triple Crown is the Epsom Derby. This race takes place at Epsom Downs Racecourse and is run over 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 10 yards. Held in early June stakes are set at £1.25 million.

The third and final event of the England Triple Crown series is the St. Leger Stakes. The distance of this even is 1 mile, 6 furlongs and 132 yards and it is held at Town Moor in Doncaster, Yorkshire in September offering £500 000 in prize money.

The English Triple Crown has a rich and detailed history dating back over 150 years. In all this time there have only ever been fifteen horses to claim an English Triple Crown victory. The last winner was Nijinsky II who won in 1970 after a Triple Crown winning drought of 35 years. Since his win there have only been two horses to come close to success in this incredible event, winning the first two legs of the Triple Crown, Nashwan (1989) and Sea the Stars (2009). Both of these runners, however, chose not to contend in the St. Leger Stakes. In fact, there have been no Epsom Derby winners to enter the St. Leger Stakes since Reference Point in 1987.

England Triple Crown Winners:

Year Winner Jockeys Trainer Owner
West Australian
Frank Butler John Scott John Bowes
Harry Grimshaw T. Jennings, Sr. Fr’d’ric de Lagrange
Fred Archer John Porter Duke of Westminister
George Barrett John Porter Sir Frederick Johnstone
Tommy Loates James Jewitt Harry McCalmont
Galtee More
Charlie Wood Sam Darling John Gubbins
Flying Fox
Morny Cannon John Porter Duke of Westminister
Diamond Jubilee
Herbert Jones Richard Marsh Edward, Prince of Wales
Rock Sand
Danny Maher G. Blackwell Sir James Miller
Steve Donoghue Charles Peck Solly Joel
Gay Crusader
Steve Donoghue Alec Taylor, Jr. Alfred W. Cox
Joseph Childs Alec Taylor, Jr. Lady James Douglas
Freddie Fox Frank Butters HH Aga Khan III
Nijinsky II
Lester Piggott V. O’Brien Charles W. Engelhard, Jr.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field