Canadian Triple Crown

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Click on the links to find more details on the three elite races that make up the Canadian Triple Crown:

There are Triple Crown series of races for three-year-old thoroughbreds held all over the globe including one in Canada that was established in 1959. The most well-known and celebrated Triple Crown is the United States, and the Canadian counterpart is distinctive to others as it shares the same race distances as those held in America and also allows geldings to compete. Geldings are barred from a number of important flat races in many Triple Crown series including the one held in Europe. The Canadian Triple Crown is also unique as all of its races are contested over three different surfaces. This variation in distance and track surface ensures that only the finest and most versatile runners see victory in this coveted event.

The first leg of the Canadian Triple Crown is the Queen?s Plate. Run over 1 ? miles in June, it is held at the Woodbine racecourse in Ontario and is worth CAN $1million.

The middle leg of the series is the Prince of Wales Stakes in July. The race distance for this event is 1 3/16 miles over a dirt track at the Fort Erie Racecourse in Ontario and is worth CAN $500 000.

The third and final race of the series is the Breeder?s Stakes, run over 1 ? miles, it is the longest distanced race of the Triple Crown. This race is conducted on a turf course at the E. P. Taylor Course in Woodbine in August and offers the same prize money as the Prince of Wales Stakes, CAN $500 000.
Over the series? history, there have been seven horses to claim a Triple Crown victory in Canada. The winners, along with the year they triumphed and their jockey, trainer and owner are listed below. As some of the winners were ridden by different jockeys for the three races, the jockey names are listed in the order the races are run, Queen?s Plate, Prince of Wales Stakes and Breeders Stakes. If the horse was ridden by the same jockey for all three races this is indicated with an (A).






New Providence
Bobby Ussery
Avelino Gomez
Avelino Gomez
Pete McCann Windfields Farm
Manuel Ycaza
Hugo Dittfach
Manuel Ycaza
Pete McCann Windfields Farm
With Approval
Don Seymour (A) Roger Attfield Kinghaven Farms
Don Seymour (A) Roger Attfield Kinghaven Farms
Dance Smartly
Pat Day (A) James E. Day Sam-Son Farm
Craig Perret
Dave Penna
Craig Perret
Roger Attfield Earle I. Mack
Patrick Husbands (A) Mike Keogh Gus Schickedanz

Unofficially, the first horse to win all three legs of the Triple Crown was Queensway in 1932. But as the Triple Crown title had not yet been established, the Canadian Jockey Club does not recognize her as a Triple Crown winner. So taking this into consideration, there has only been one filly to become a Triple Crown champion, Dance Smartly in 1991.

A number of quality horses have come very close to Triple Crown success, winning the first two legs of the race only to lose at the Breeders Stakes, they were: Almoner (1970), L?Enjoleur (1975), Norcliffe (1976), Golden Choice (1986), Scatter The Gold (2000).

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field