Leicester Is The South Australian Derby 2018 Winner for Weir

May 12, 2018

Leicester Is The South Australian Derby 2018 Winner for Weir

Premier Victorian trainer Darren Weir emulated the legendary Bart Cummings celebrating a third straight win in the 2018 South Australian Derby with race favourite Leicester saluting at Morphettville.


Leicester (pictured winning the Chairman’s Stakes) handed Darren Weir with a third straight win in the SA Derby 2018. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Cummings prepared a trio of SA Derby champions with Prince Of All, Vacuum and Storm Rex from 1975-77.

Just over 40 years on and Weir repeated the feat with Leicester saluting in the Group 1 $600,000 South Australian Derby (2500m) following on from the stable’s previous wins with Howard Be Thy Name (2016) and Volatile Mix (2017).

“It doesn’t get much better than that,” Weir said after the race.

The second in as many years to do the Chairman’s Stakes – SA Derby double, Wanted gelding Leicester put any doubts to bed about his ability to stay handling the rise from 2035m to 2500m thanks partly to a dream run throughout.

“The run that he had…he needed that run to show that turn of foot,” Weir said.

Ace interstate hoop Damian Lane retained the ride on Leicester having guided him to the lead-up win at Morphettville Parks in the Group 3 a fortnight back and handed Weir with a ninth Group 1 success for the 2017-18 Australian racing season.

“The way Damian rode him was absolutely perfect,” Weir added.

“He switched him off, got into the right spot…and didn’t press the button until the last 200m.

“I told him to just ride him to run the trip.”

Lane had Leicester right up there early as the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott-trained VRC St Leger winner Runaway hit the front and led the field around.

As expected Runaway set the pace, while the favourite was given every chance from the get go travelling fourth the outside, one out one back in the perfect position in transit.

Runaway was first into the home straight, Leicester deeper out and the Lindsay Park-trained roughie hope Rezealient ($21) on the back of a VRC St. Leger second putting in a big late run.

Once on the straight Leicester moved up to Runaway and took the lead 70m out from the line, the top fancy with plenty in the tank off the easy run to defeat Rezealient by a length and a quarter.

Runaway ($13) held for third to round out the SA Derby trifecta, while trainer Travis Doudle’s $151 roughie and eleventh hour call-up following the scratching of Amerock, Tropical Lightning, ran out of his skin to cross just two lengths back fourth.

“He presented in great order today,” Lane said of the winner.

“I think the genuine temp really helped this horse.

“I had the lovely advantage of just being able to pop out and come into the race when I wanted to.

“When I started to see the red tape on the 100 [metres] I thought it’s always hard to run one of Weiry’s down from here.”

Leicester is now a chance to head to Brisbane on June 9 for a shot at the Group 1 $600,000 Queensland Derby (2200m) at Doomben Racecourse, the SA Derby winner at $13 in the latest all-in markets at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2018 South Australian Derby Results & Finishing Order

Morphettville Race 7 – 12/05/2018

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Weight SP
1 3 LEICESTER Darren Weir Damian Lane 7 56.5kg $4F
2 10 REZEALIENT David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Jamie Kah 1.4L 4 56.5kg $21
3 7 RUNAWAY Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 2.1L 12 56.5kg $13
4 17e TROPICAL LIGHTNING Travis Doudle Todd Pannell 2.1L 5 56.5kg $151
5 8 WON WON TOO (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Jordan Childs 2.9L 3 56.5kg $51
6 13 HIGH ’N’ DRY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Andrew Mallyon 4.1L 16 56.5kg $6
7 12 INTO RIO (NZ) Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damien Thornton 4.7L 6 56.5kg $51
7 2 MONEY MAHER Daniel & Ben Pearce Jarrad Noske 4.7L 15 56.5kg $31
9 5 MAIN STAGE (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Damien Oliver 4.9L 8 56.5kg $8
10 6 HIGH SHERRIF (NZ) Roger James Leith Innes 5L 10 56.5kg $9
11 15 NOTHIN’ LEICA HIGH Robbie Griffiths Dom Tourneur 6.3L 9 56.5kg $61
12 9 SAVAHEAT (NZ) Darren Weir Dean Yendall 7.6L 1 56.5kg $31
13 16 BOX ON COLLINS Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 8.9L 14 56.5kg $61
14 1 TANGLED Chris Waller Michael Walker 9L 13 56.5kg $5.50
15 4 CIVIL DISOBEDIENCE (NZ) Darren Weir John Allen 9.1L 11 56.5kg $14
16 11 SILENT COMMAND Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 13.1L 2 56.5kg $101
19e JOHNNY VINKO (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Dwayne Dunn 0
20e CREEDENCE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 0
14 AMEROCK Darren Weir Harry Coffey 0
18e DELOS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field