2015 Melbourne Cup Jockeys Confirmed

October 31, 2015

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2015 Melbourne Cup Jockeys Confirmed

Along with the official 24 horses making up the Melbourne Cup 2015 field this Spring, the full list of jockeys to take a sit on a runner in the ‘race that stops a nation’ next Tuesday at Flemington Racecourse has also been confirmed.

The Offer

Bendigo Cup winner The Offer will have triple Melbourne Cup winning hoop Damien Oliver in the saddle in Race 7 at Flemington on Tuesday. Photo: Steve Hart.

Due to run as Flemington Race 7 on Tuesday November 3 at 3:00pm (AEST), this year’s $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) field was released after the racing action of Victoria Derby Day.

2015 Melbourne Cup Jockeys

On the Favourite: Zac Purton aboard Fame Game

Most Successful: Damien Oliver (3 wins, 3 seconds) aboard The Offer

The 24 Melbourne Cup jockeys are also now known including the Hong Kong-based Aussie expat Zac Purton who rides the early race favourite Fame Game.

One of 11 internationals raiding the world’s richest handicap down under, Fame Game leads Melbourne Cup betting at around $4 through Ladbrokes.com.au and Purton has his third ride in the two mile classic on the last start Caulfield Cup sixth placegetter.

The most successful Melbourne Cup jockey in recent history is Damien Oliver who from 25 rides in the great race boasts three victories and three second place finishes.

Oliver’s previous Melbourne Cup winning rides were aboard Doremus (1995), Media Puzzle (2002) and most recently the Gai Waterhouse-trained Fiorente (2013).

He is back in 2015 aboard another livewire Waterhouse hope, former Sydney Cup winner The Offer who is set to carry 54kg on the back of his Group 3 Bendigo Cup (2400m) win with 59kg on October 28.

Other previous Melbourne Cup winning jockeys with a mount in 2015 include Gerald Mosse (Americain, 2010) and Kerrin McEvoy (Brew, 2000) who partner Ed Dunlop’s triple Melbourne Cup runner-up Red Cadeaux and Waterhouse’s second runner this season Excess Knowledge respectively.

Red Cadeaux is a 10-year-old when racing in Australia and contests his fifth straight Emirates Melbourne Cup next week carrying 55kg after his third second 12 months ago behind Germany’s Protectionist.

Excess Knowledge meanwhile gets into the field on just 51kg, an exact weight four Melbourne Cup champions have carried to victory since 1990 with: Let’s Elope (1991), Jezabeel (1998), Makybe Diva (2003) for her first of a record three Loving Trophies and most recently Shocking (2009).

The in-form Monsun six-year-old has been in flying form this prep with a Herbert Power Stakes second two back, a race that produced last year’s winner Protectionist (4th), and his Group 3 Lexus Stakes (2500m) victory on Derby Day that earned him an 11th hour Melbourne Cup start.

Also with a Melbourne Cup win on the record and a chance to add another this season are Jim Cassidy on Chris Waller’s Sydney Cup winner this autumn Grand Marshall, Ryan Moore riding the 58kg top weight Snow Sky, Blake Shinn on another of Waller’s proven two milers Who Shot Thebarman and Brett Prebble on one of the two Aidan O’Brien-trained Irish raiders Bondi Beach having just his sixth race start.

Now is the time to sign-up with Ladbrokes.com.au to get in on the Melbourne Cup 2015 betting action and go in their ‘The Melbourne Cup Prize Draw’ giving you unlimited chances to share in over $70,000 in prizes including a major prize win of a 2015 Ford Ranger by placing as many unique Melbourne Cup bets as you like!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field