Akzar Among 2014 Premier’s Cup Nominations

May 19, 2014

Akzar Among 2014 Premier’s Cup Nominations

Fresh off a brave fourth in the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) over the weekend, Darren Weir’s veteran stayer Akzar has been nominated for another Doomben run this weekend in the Premier’s Cup 2014.


Akzar is nominated to back up off a Doomben Cup fourth in the Premier's Cup 2014 this weekend. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

One of a host of Group races on the Doomben 10,000 Day program in Brisbane on Saturday this year’s $125,000 Group 3 Channel Seven Premier’s Cup (2200m) drew a bumper 23 nominations today.

Heading those is Selkirk seven-year-old Akzar who came within two and a quarter lengths of the Guy Walter-trained champion mare Streama who won her fourth Group 1 in the Doomben Cup.

Akzar went into the race on the back of a blistering six length victory in the Warnambool Cup (2350m) and is sure to appreciate a step back up in distance again for the Premier’s Cup if accepted for the weekend.

Another Doomben Cup graduate nominated for the Premier’s Cup seven days later is then the Chris Waller-trained Moriarty who ran less than a quarter length further back than Akzar in fifth.

The Clodovil six-year-old also ran fifth to Streama the start before in the Group 2 AD Hollindale Stakes (1800m) on the Gold Coast but is sure to improve when stepped back in class for the Premier’s.

Waller plays a strong hand in the Premier’s Cup nominations this year too with Moriarty one of five entries for Sydney’s premier trainer.

His other entries are Permit, Danchai who ran second to Pretty Pins in the Group 3 Chairman’s Handicap (2000m) at the track on May 10, and Lord Mayor’s Cup second and third place getters on the same day in Sydney I’m Imposing and Secessio.

John Thompson’s Chairman’s Handicap winner Pretty Pins another top Premier’s Cup nominee as is Lord Mayor’s Cup champion Zephyron for Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes who improved on an 11th the start before in the Group 3 JRA Plate (2000m) to win the Listed feature.

Also coming via the Chairman’s Handicap at this track two weeks back on Saturday are Group 2 winning Kiwi mare Lauren Tate (4th) and Sunshine Coast galloper Heartfelt Quest (5th).

Other notable nominees include Doomben Cup seventh placed Hollindale Stakes runner-up Mr O’Ceirin who is better suited in the wet and reigning Premier’s Cup winner Precedence coming via a Hollindale third.

See below for the full Premier’s Cup 2014 nominations with the final field and barriers set for release on Wednesday morning.

Make sure you don’t have to settle for second best odds this weekend.

Get the right price online every time at Ladbrokes.com.au who are also offering Best Tote or SP + 20% on your winnings for the Group 1 majors this Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

2014 Premier’s Cup Nominations

Doomben Racecourse – 24/05/2014

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AKZAR (IRE) Darren Weir 103
2 DANCHAI (GB) Chris Waller 95
3 FLYING HOME Barry Baldwin
4 FREEZY (IRE) Anthony Freedman
5 HEARTFELT QUEST Len Treloar 85
6 I’M IMPOSING (GB) Chris Waller
7 LAUREN TATE (NZ) John Morell 96
8 MALING David J Lawlor 79
9 MILITARY MOVE (NZ) Shaune Ritchie 101
10 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller 108
11 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher
12 PERFECT START (NZ) Wayne Hillis 83
13 PERMIT (GB) Chris Waller
14 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart & James Cummings 107
15 PRETTY PINS (NZ) John P Thompson 96
16 RAEBURN Brian Smith 86
17 SECESSIO (GB) Chris Waller
18 SKYSOBLUE (NZ) Graeme Sanders
19 TRAJET Liam Birchley
20 VESPER Michael Jacobs 84
21 WALDPARK (GER) Anthony Freedman
22 ZENNISTA (NZ) Lisa Latta 103
23 ZEPHYRON (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field