Quality Grafton Cup Nominations 2013 Announced

July 4, 2013

Quality Grafton Cup Nominations 2013 Announced

Next Thursday, July 11, the Clarence River Jockey Club will host their headline race with the 2013 Grafton Cup lighting up the track for the 100thtime.

Destiny's Kiss

Destiny's Kiss is one of the eight last start winners nominated for next week's Grafton Cup 2013. Photo: Steve Hart.

There are 32 nominations for the iconic $150,000 Listed 100th Grafton Cup (2350m) including eight last start winners.

One of the most notable entries is the Joe Pride-trained Destiny’s Kiss who will be shooting for their third win on the trot next week.

The Power Of Destiny four-year-old relished a mud track at Rosehill this Monday when easily defeating their rivals by a minimum two and a half lengths in the rescheduled Listed Winter Cup (2400m), Pride hoping they can continue on that good form at Grafton.

Also coming via the Winter Cup is Zabeel nine-year-old Fiumicino, the Hawkes-trained runner-up who was brave in defeat with a hefty 59kg.

Another big name nominee coming off a black type victory is then Lisa Latta’s Kiwi raider Zennista who bypassed this Saturday’s Listed Queensland Cup (3200m) in Brisbane in favour of the Grafton classic.

The Zenno Rob Roy mare has been thriving during their time spent in the sunshine state including their brave third to Moriarty in the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m).

Last Saturday they backed up from that run to take out the Listed Caloundra Cup over the mile and a half by a bit margin enjoying the Heavy (9) conditions.

Other Caloundra Cup runners that are looking to back up at Grafton include Peter Moody’s second placed European import Voila Ici and fourth placegetter Shenzhou Steeds from the Flemington stables of Michael Moroney who failed to defend their title in the Sunshine Coast showdown.

Also vying for successive victories having won their Grafton Cup lead-ups are the likes of the Bruce Hill-trained Gold Coast mudlark Buffett who won on a Heavy (10) at home by six lengths last weekend, the Tony Vasil-trained De Fine Lago and Bede Murray’s six-year-old World Wide.

Taree trainer Bindi Cheers will also line-up two last start winning stablemates with Murwillumbah Cup winner Zar Zar Binks and Casino Prince three-year-old Phrases after their third on the trot following wins at Port Macquarie and Newcastle last month.

Other in-form entries shooting for a shot at the title include Murwillumbah Cup runner-up Handsome Dane, Ciaron Maher’s honest stayer Mr O’Ceirin and seven length Stayers Cup winner Peal Of Bells looking to bounce back after their unexplained failure in the Winter Cup when beaten nearly 24 lengths.

See below for the full 2013 Grafton Cup nominations with the final field of acceptances to be released early next week.

To prepare for this year’s Grafton Cup Carnival make sure you have an online betting account open with bookmaker.com.au who offer a premium range of fixed win and other markets including their exclusive Pick Your Own Odds option for all metro races.

2013 Grafton Cup Nominations

Grafton Racecourse – 11/07/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ANAGOLD Bryan Guy
2 BID SPOTTER Toby Edmonds 86
3 BRAVE ALI (NZ) Craig Martin 71
4 BUFFETT (NZ) Bruce W Hill
6 CIRCLE OF FAME Ruth Cooper 57
7 DAZZLE US Bruce W Hill
8 DE FINE LAGO Tony Vasil
9 DESTINY’S KISS Joseph Pride 97
10 DEVISED Tim Donnelly 85
11 FIUMICINO (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 99
12 GOLD CAPE John Wheeler
13 HANDSOME DANE Owen Glue 73
14 LUCKY IMA CUGAT Steve Hodge 61
15 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher
16 PEAL OF BELLS Gwenda Markwell 93
17 PHRASES Bindi Cheers 65
18 PIAZZA SAN PIETRO (NZ) Bede Murray 77
19 RAEBURN Brian Smith
20 RETUNE David Kelly 64
21 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 96
22 RHETORIC Maryann Brosnan 65
23 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 84
24 SHABANA Mark Lynch 69
25 SHENZHOU STEEDS (NZ) Michael Moroney
26 TRAJET Liam Birchley
27 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody
28 VOLCANIC TRADER John A Sprague 55
29 WORLD WIDE Bede Murray 90
30 YULALONA Peter Snowden 81
31 ZAR ZAR BINKS Bindi Cheers 75
32 ZENNISTA (NZ) Lisa Latta

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field