Heathcote and Munce Hone in on Racing Records

July 19, 2011

Heathcote and Munce Hone in on Racing Records

Two of Brisbane’s best, trainer Robert Heathcote and jockey Chris Munce, are just a few races away from entering the Queensland racing record books this season.

With just four meetings left to run in the state for the 2010-11 season, Brisbane Premiership frontrunners Heathcote and Munce are each on the threshold of achieving their own unique feats.

Eagle Farm-based Heathcote, who this year enjoyed one of his most successful Queensland Winter Racing Carnivals ever, is on track to score back-to-back training premierships in the sunshine state.

Not only this, but Heathcote could also break the 60 win mark by the end of the season after moving to 58.5 winners with his winning trio last Saturday.

Simmering, Solzhenitsyn and Excellantes all saluted in fine style for Heathcote in their respective races at Doomben taking the determined horseman one step closer to reaching a milestone only achieved by two before him.

To date the late, great Bruce McLachlan holds the record of most number of winners in Brisbane for a single season with 78 in 1987-88.

That was one of six seasons McLachlan cracked the magic 60 mark, the other trainer to do so being Gerald Ryan who twice reached the landmark.

“I have already hit $3 million in prize money this year after being just under last year,” Heathcote said.

“I have a good infrastructure working now.

“What has pleased me the most is that I can go away and everything ticks over as smooth as.

“That’s important and it’s a sign that things are going pretty well.”

Heathcote will get the chance to move into the 60’s this week with runners at Wednesday’s Eagle Farm meeting and Saturday’s Tattersall’s race day.

Jess Sar Belle and Ampho Power are the stable’s reps tomorrow, Brahms mare Jess Sar Belle the top fancy of the two.

Then on Saturday at Eagle Farm Heathcote will again have a strong hand with the likes of $80,000 Listed Tattersall’s Mile hopeful Work The Room, and last-start Doomben winners Simmering and Solzhenitsyn leading the way.

Meanwhile, Melbourne Cup-winning hoop Munce is just six wining rides short of surpassing his self-set record of 85 wins.

Munce’s personal best came in the 1991-92 season when he claimed the Brisbane Jockey Premiership.

While Heathcote has four meetings left to hit 60, Munce is set to head on holiday after this weekend leaving the ace hoop with just two race days in which to break his PB.

“I tell you want, I’ll give it a good crack,” Munce said.

“If I can top 80 I will still be over the moon. My main goal was to just get the premiership.

“I have had a number of trainers helping me along the way and it’s been good, particularly without the support of one single stable.

“Moving back to Brisbane is the best thing we could have done as a family.

“I am enjoying my time up here and to have achieved the goal I set out to, I’m pretty happy about it.”

The only jockey since Munce and his blistering 1991-92 season to achieve 80 or more winning rides in a season was Scott Seamer with an impressive 96 in 2000-01.

With 18 thoroughbred majors to his name including the coveted spring slam-dunk, Munce having ridden winners in the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate over his career, he is already looking towards the upcoming Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival which kicks off next month.

“It would be good if I could line up a few nice horses for the carnivals, but if that doesn’t work out I would like to target another premiership and having a better winter carnival next year,” he said.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field