2011 Australian Derby Nominations Released

March 9, 2011

2011 Australian Derby Nominations Released

Yesterday the 2011 Australian Derby nominations were released with 72 horses making up the early entries for the $1.5 million race set to run at Randwick on April 9 as part of the elite Group 1 action of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The $1.5 million Group 1 AJC Australian Derby (2400m) is one of the richest races for three-year-olds during the season and this year with be the 150th anniversary of the event.

has drawn a star-studded list of nominees including a last weekend’s Australian Guineas champion Shamrocker.

Among the early favourites in the AJC Derby nominations, the Danny O’Brien-trained filly Shamrocker cause an upset 2011 Australian Guineas result last Saturday, March 5 at Flemington.

Going out as a $31 roughie, last year’s 2010 Crown Oaks runner-up Shamrocker stormed home to defeat Bullbars by 1 ¾ lengths while consistent Ascot galloper Playing God came in third.

Neville Parnham’s Group 1 Kingston Town Classic winner Playing God has also been nominated for the Australian Derby next month, connections reportedly impressed with their first effort outside of WA in the Guineas.

Other Top 2011 Australian Derby Nominations Include:

  • Anacheeva (Michael Moroney) – Winner of the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) last spring, most recently placed sixth in the Australian Guineas
  • Brazilian Pulse (Michael Moroney) – Talented Captain Rio filly scored victory in the Group 1 Crown Oaks (2500m) at Flemington last Melbourne Cup Carnival
  • Shootoff (Graeme Rogerson) – Lightly-raced Duelled gelding was third in the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m) at Randwick last preparation
  • Masquerader (David Payne) – Lucky Owners colt placed third in the 2010 Caulfield Guineas, recently ran a game fourth in the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m)
  • Pressday (Chris Waller) – Domesday colt, Group 1 winner in the T.J. Smith (1600m) at Eagle Farm last winter and also took out the Group 2 Sandown Guineas during the spring
  • Retrieve (Peter Snowden) – Last year’s Victoria Derby third placegetter, resumed this season with a first-up second in the Hobartville Stakes
  • Rockstardom (Danny O’Brien) – Makybe Diva’s first foal adds interest to the list of entries
  • Lights Of Heaven (Peter Moody) – Zabeel filly unbeaten in three starts including her victory in the Group 2 Fillies Classic (1600m) at Moonee Valley on March 4

Early nominations for the $500,000 AJC Sires Produce Stakes (1400m), the two-year-olds race also set to run at Randwick on April 9, were taken yesterday as well with 112 entries.

Meanwhile, 94 three-year-old fillies were nominated for the $550,000 Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m) set to run on Doncaster Mile Day at Randwick, Saturday April 16.

The 2011 AJC Australian Derby final field of acceptors will be declared on Wednesday April 6 and published here at Races.com.au along with the barrier draw, form guide and our insider Derby betting tips.

Futures betting on all these upcoming Group 1 autumn features are set to open at leading online bookmaker Luxbet shortly so now is the time to open your Luxbet account and be the first to access the generous early odds.

2011 David Jones AJC Australian Derby Nominations

# Horse Trainer
2 ALMODOVAR (NZ) Peter G Moody
3 ANACHEEVA Peter G Moody
4 APRES Clinton McDonald
5 BLACKIE (NZ) Michael Kent
6 BRAZILIAN PULSE (NZ) Michael Moroney
7 CHICO BONITO Jason Coyle
8 CORAL REEF David Hayes
10 DALINE Guy Walter
11 DIAMOND JIM David Payne
12 DOMESKY Michael Kent
13 DON’T PUT IT THERE (NZ) Jim & Greg Lee
14 DUCARIUS Paul Perry
16 EDELSTONE Guy Walter
17 ELUSIVE KING Peter G Moody
18 EMERITUS (NZ) Anthony Cummings
19 GILDED SPUR Anthony Cummings
20 GOLDSTONE Bart Cummings
21 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James
22 HIGH DENSITY Joe Cleary
23 I THINK I DO Bart Cummings
24 JETER John P Thompson
25 JETHRO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
26 JIMMY CHOUX (NZ) John Bary
27 KIM DIVINE Bart Cummings
28 KING GLADIATOR Chris Waller
29 KUDAKULARI (NZ) Bart Cummings
30 LIGHT BRIGADE Gai Waterhouse
31 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody
32 MASQUERADER David Payne
33 MAULES CREEK John P Thompson
34 MEAISIN (NZ) Danny O’Brien
35 MISSING IN ACTION (NZ) Michael Moroney
36 MOONSTONES (NZ) Anthony Cummings
37 MR CONSOLIDATOR Leon Corstens
38 MUIRFIELD (NZ) Michael Moroney
39 MUKARRAR David Hayes
40 MUST HAVE (NZ) Fran Houlahan & Brian Johnston
41 NEEDS FURTHER Gai Waterhouse
42 NONINO Nick Olive
43 OFORAWESOME (NZ) Michael Kent
44 ON THE LEVEL (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker
45 PLAYING GOD Neville Parnham
46 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne
48 PRESSDAY Chris Waller
49 QUARTERBAR Michael Moroney
50 QUEEN’S FASHION David Hayes
51 RAFFLES KNIGHT Stephen Mckee
52 REDWIN Leon Corstens
53 RETRIEVE Peter Snowden
54 RIMSKY (NZ) Bruce Wallace
55 ROCKSTARDOM Danny O’Brien
57 SCOTTU Joanna Methven
58 SEA LORD David Payne
59 SECOND DRAW John P Thompson
60 SHADOWOFEXCELLENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
61 SHADOWS IN THE SUN Anthony Cummings
62 SHAMROCKER (NZ) Danny O’Brien
63 SHOOTOFF (NZ) Graeme Rogerson
64 SIERRA NEVADA (NZ) Richard Otto
65 SLATER Chris Waller
66 SPACE STATION Bede Murray
67 STRAIGHT ALBERT Michael Dobie
68 STRAIGHT ARROW (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
69 STRATOCRACY Michael Moroney
70 TAKE THE OATH Joseph Pride
71 TOOLBAG John P Thompson
72 VADER Anthony Cummings

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field