How to Pick the 2010 Melbourne Cup Winner – Melbourne Cup Facts & Stats

Punters can study the 2010 Melbourne Cup Form all day and night until the 150th edition of the world’s richest handicap jumps as Race 7 at Flemington tomorrow, but for a simple way to pick the Melbourne Cup winner check out the facts and figures below!

Multiple Melbourne Cup Winners:

Only five horses have won multiple Melbourne Cups: Makybe Diva (2003,2004,2005), Think Big (1974, 1947), Rain Lover (1968,1969), Peter Pan (1932,1934) and Archer (1861,1862).

Tomorrow reigning Melbourne Cup winner Shocking is back to defend his title and add his name to the list of multiple Melbourne Cup winners.

Drawn in the far outside barrier 24, Shocking has some work to do but is still the $9.50 second favourite behind So You Think at Luxbet.

Melbourne Cup Trainer Record:

Maestro trainer Bart Cummings holds the Melbourne Cup record with an astounding 12 Melbourne Cup winners, most recently Viewed (2008).

This year the Cups King has two top contenders in the 2010 Melbourne Cup field with red hot favourite So You Think and good lightweight chance Precedence.

So You Think is the superstar of the spring coming into the Melbourne Cup on the back of five successive Group wins including the Cox Plate and Mackinnon Stakes, understandably at the top of the odds paying $3.10.

Precedence is a $21 chance, also in great form with wins in the JRA Cup and Moonee Valley Cup this season.

To get behind Cummings to claim his 13th Melbourne Cup tomorrow, head to Luxbet!

Melbourne Cup Winners by Gender:

There have been 148 individual Melbourne Cup winners throughout history and only 15 of these have been female runners, most famously Makybe Diva who is the only horse in history to claim three Melbourne Cup victories.

Of the 133 male Melbourne Cup winners 64 were entires, 49 were geldings and 20 were colts.

So statistically the 2010 Melbourne Cup winner will be a male horse, meaning punters are likely to shy away from the two mares in the Melbourne Cup field this year, Once Were Wild and Profound Beauty.

Melbourne Cup Winners by Weight:

Nine Melbourne Cup top-weights have won the race throughout history. This year’s top weighted Melbourne Cup contender is defending champion Shocking with 57kg, 6kg more than the weight they carried to victory last year.

No horse in the past three decades has carried exactly 57kg to victory.

The next two highest weighted Melbourne Cup horses are Campanologist and So You Think with 56kg, who if they go on to win tomorrow will join Delta Blues (2006) and Might And Power (1997) as horses to win with this weight in the past 20 years.

The most successful weight over the past 20 years is 51kg, with Let’s Elope (1991), Jezabeel (1998), Makybe Diva (2003) and Shocking (1999) all carrying this to victory in their respective years.

This year the only 2010 Melbourne Cup runner with 51kg is Maluckday, current second favourite in the betting after sneaking into the field with a The Lexus Stakes win last Saturday.

Melbourne Cup Winners by Age:

Four and five-year-old horses have won the most Melbourne Cups over the years with 43 victories each.

This is followed by six-year-olds with 28 wins, three-year-olds with 23 wins, seven-year-olds with 10 and then two eight-year-old Melbourne Cup winners.

So statistically a horse aged four or five will win the Melbourne Cup, which includes Shocking and So You Think.

No nine-year-old has won a Melbourne Cup, can in-form veteran Zipping be the first tomorrow?

To put your knew Melbourne Cup knowledge to the ultimate test, head to Luxbet and place your bets on the most famous race in Australia at the best price!