Sacred Choice Wins 2010 Myer Classic in Upset over Typhoon Tracy – Derby Day Race 7 Results

October 30, 2010

Sacred Choice Wins 2010 Myer Classic in Upset over Typhoon Tracy – Derby Day Race 7 Results

Joseph Pride’s well-bred mare Sacred Choice has claimed an upset win in Victoria Derby Day Race 7 today, storming home to defeat a brilliant field in the $500,000 Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m) at Flemington.

Going out at very generous odds of $21 at Luxbet, Choisir mare Sacred Choice sat back early letting Culminate and Hot Danish set the pace.
On the turn home, Hot Danish ran to the lead on the outside while red hot favourite and reigning Myer Classic winner Typhoon Tracy also moved up after settling about fourth in the field.

Then at the 300m mark, in a brilliant ride by star hoop Corey Brown, Sacred Choice hit the lead in front of Typhoon Tracy wielding them in.

The Heavy track conditions at Flemington proved too much for Typhoon Tracy who couldn’t match the winner, Sacred Choice pulling away very comfortably to win by three lengths over the favourite, with Hot Danish hanging in for third.

The next race on the card at Victoria Derby Day is Race 8 – the Salinger Stakes so get in on the action at Luxbet now!

2010 Myer Classic Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 6 SACRED CHOICE(6) Corey Brown Joseph Pride 57.0 1-38.91
2nd 2 TYPHOON TRACY(7) Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 57.0 4.5L
3rd 1 HOT DANISH(8) Tim Clark Les Bridge 57.0 10.0L
4th 11 BELIEVE ‘N ACHIEVE(4) Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 56.5 14.3L
5th 3 CULMINATE(3) Michael Walker Darren Weir 57.0 16.0L
6th 8 NO EVIDENCE NEEDED(9) James Winks John P Thompson 56.5 17.8L
7th 9 MARQUARDT(2) Craig Newitt John P Thompson 56.5 19.5L
8th 5 PALACIO DE CRISTAL(5) Dwayne Dunn Grahame Begg 57.0 22.3L
9th 12 YOSEI(1) Glen Boss Stuart Webb 49.5 29.3L
Src 4 ALLEZ WONDER Steven Arnold Bart Cummings
Src 7 KATIE LEE Hugh Bowman Graeme Rogerson
Src 10 LOVEMELIKEAROCK Jim Cassidy Anthony Cummings

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The E...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The Everest After Brisbane Winter

It is shaping-up as a huge year for Benjamin Smith’s class mare In Her Time...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 for Trapeze Artist

The world’s richest race on turf, the 2018 The Everest, will be firmly on the...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field