2010 Victoria Derby Winner Lion Tamer – Melbourne Cup Carnival Day 1 Race 6 Results

The 2010 Victoria Derby winner has been decided with smart Kiwi galloper Lion Tamer claiming an amazing victory in the feature Flemington race today defeating a crack field of three-year-olds in the $1.5 million Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m).

The wet conditions and rain-affected track suited the Storming Home colt to a tee, and that is exactly what the Murray and Bjorn Baker-trained colt did, stormed away with the Victoria Derby win.

The soft surface and slow pace of the Derby was all in Lion Tamer’s favour.

Settling into second behind Almindoro early, with 800m to go Victoria Derby winning jockey Hugh Bowman let Lion Tamer go and they opened up on the field and continued to pull away.

With 400m to go they lead by three or four lengths, but they didn’t tire instead digging deeper and galloping away to finish an incredible five lengths away from runner-up Praecido and one of the top fancies Retrieve in third.

Lion Tamer has now won five of their 10 career starts, emerging as the champion wet tracker today!

The action of the Victoria Derby Day is far from over! With three Group race still set to run followed by the 2010 Melbourne Cup field and barrier draw so there’s plenty to look forward to and plenty of chances to win big by betting online at Luxbet!

2010 Victoria Derby Finishing Order & Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 3 LION TAMER(14) Hugh Bowman Murray & Bjorn Baker 55.5 2-46.43
2nd 5 PRAECIDO(10) Craig Williams David Payne 55.5 6.5L
3rd 1 RETRIEVE(2) Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden 55.5 6.7L
4th 9 DIGITAL FORTRESS(12) Blake Shinn Guy Walter 55.5 7.7L
5th 2 REKINDLED INTEREST(6) Dwayne Dunn Jim Conlan 55.5 12.2L
6th 11 ALMINDORO(4) Steven King Steve Richards 55.5 14.2L
7th 6 YULALONA(13) Mark Zahra Peter Snowden 55.5 15.0L
8th 12 COSMONAUT(16) Michael Rodd Bart Cummings 55.5 17.7L
9th 10 SHOOTOFF(11) Corey Brown Graeme Rogerson 55.5 19.0L
10th 16 ULUNDI(3) Ben Melham Pat Carey 55.5 20.5L
11th 8 LUCKYI’MBAREFOOT(1) Dean Holland Tracey Templeton 55.5 26.0L
12th 13 KIRINATA(9) Nash Rawiller Paul Perry 55.5 34.0L
13th 14 PERFECT PECS(15) Craig Newitt Rick Hore-Lacy 55.5 35.7L
14th 4 SMOKIN’ JOEY(5) Damien Oliver Lee Freedman 55.5 40.7L
15th 15 TALE OF THUNDER(7) Jim Cassidy John P Thompson 55.5 42.7L
16th 7 KUDAKULARI(8) Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 55.5 47.2L
Src 17 ABSOLUTELYAWESOME Luke Nolen Michael Moroney
Src 18 SHADOWOFEXCELLENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
Src 19 ACCLAIMED CHAOS Dean Yendall Peter Healey
Src 20 KERCHINGS Michael Walker Anthony Cummings