2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw & Field

October 26, 2010

2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw & Field

The 2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw is just days away, with the release of the final field of acceptances and their barriers announced this Saturday, October 30 at Flemington’s Victoria Derby Day.

There are currently 47 horses vying for a spot in the 24-stayer final field for the 150th Melbourne Cup, set to run as Race 7 at Flemington on Tuesday November 2, after third declarations were taken yesterday.

2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw

  • Where: Flemington Racecourse
  • When: Victoria Derby Day, Saturday October 30th

The configuration of the Melbourne Cup Field hangs on the results of three races at this Saturday’s opening Melbourne Cup Carnival meeting.

The winners of the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m), Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) and Group 3 The Lexus Stakes (2500m) are all exempt from ballot if accepted for the $6 million Melbourne Cup (3200m).

The fate of a number of highly rated runners hangs in the balance, with the likes of Red Ruler (25th), Precedence (26th), Mourayan (27th), Herculian Prince (28th), Alcopop (29th), Linton (30th) and Moudre (38th) all fighting for a spot in the Melbourne Cup starting line-up this weekend in The Lexus Stakes.

Following the Victoria Derby Day racing action, the Melbourne Cup final declaration stage and barrier draw will then take place on-track at Flemington.

The Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw is a key indicator for punters considering which horse in the field they are going to back.

The Races.com.au team will be the first to publish the 2010 Melbourne Cup field and barrier draw this Saturday, so bookmark us and stay tuned on Saturday.

Melbourne Cup Winning Barriers

In a testing staying race like the Melbourne Cup, an inside barrier draw is not always favourable as the Melbourne Cup runners have plenty of distance to work their way into position.

Last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Shocking started out wide from barrier 21, the widest winning barrier in a Melbourne Cup field since Brew won from gate 22 in 2000.

Interesting to note is that barrier 11 has been the most successful starting gate producing seven Melbourne Cup Winners, while no horse has ever won the Melbourne Cup from barrier 18.

Below is a list of the past 20 Melbourne Cup winners and the barriers they jumped from.

So use the barrier draw to select the 2010 Melbourne Cup winner and lock in the hottest odds on your selection by signing up with Luxbet now!

Year Winner Barrier
2009 Shocking 21
2008 Viewed 8
2007 Efficient 9
2006 Delta Blues 10
2005 Makybe Diva 14
2004 Makybe Diva 7
2003 Makybe Diva 14
2002 Media Puzzle 3
2001 Ethereal 11
2000 Brew 22
1999 Rogan Josh 21
1998 Jezabeel 16
1997 Might And Power 2
1996 Saintly 3
1995 Doriemus 21
1994 Jeune 9
1993 Vintage Crop 5
1992 Subzero 14
1991 Let’s Elope 10
1990 Kingston Rule 1

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?