2010 Lexus Stakes Last Chance for Melbourne Cup Hopefuls

October 25, 2010

2010 Lexus Stakes Last Chance for Melbourne Cup Hopefuls

Today the 2010 Melbourne Cup Third Acceptances left 47 horses vying for a run in this year’s Cup, but with a number of classy stayers still outside the top 24 this Saturday’s The Lexus Stakes is the last opportunity to sneak into the 150th Melbourne Cup field.

High profile Melbourne Cup hopefuls still well down the order of entry that need to win either the $1 million Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) or the $250,000 Group 3 The Lexus Stakes (2500m) at Flemington’s Victoria Derby Day include:

  • Precedence (Bart Cummings)
  • Mourayan (Robert Hickmott)
  • Herculian Prince (Gai Waterhouse)
  • Alcopop (Jake Stephens)
  • Linton (Robert Hickmott)
  • Holberg (Saeed Bin Suroor)
  • Drunken Sailor (Drunken Sailor)
  • Eastern Aria (Mark Johnston)

With the 2010 Melbourne Cup set to be contested by one of the strongest and most impressive fields of gallopers in years, the fight to make the field is hotter than ever.

After Cummings’ announced he would back up hot Melbourne Cup favourite So You Think after his stunning Cox Plate win in this Saturday’s Mackinnon Stakes, The Lexus Stakes now looks the last viable option for connections and their Cup hopefuls.

Last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Shocking took out the Lexus on way to his startling success in the world’s richest handicap 12 months ago, as did Brew in 2000.

In fact, in the past four decades 24 Melbourne Cup winners have come via either the Mackinnon or the Lexus on Derby Day.

Eleven of the Cups King Bart Cummings’ 12 Melbourne Cup champions raced at Flemington the Saturday before their Cup success, Saintly (1996) the only runner that didn’t come via a Derby Day run.

Contenders that are among the 30 nominations for the Lexus battling for one of the 24 places in the Melbourne Cup include Bart Cummings’ Moonee Valley Cup winner Precedence (30th), the Lloyd Williams-owned duo Mourayan (31st) and Linton (34th), last year’s beaten Melbourne Cup favourite Alcopop (33rd) and one-time favourite for the Caulfield Cup Moudre (42nd).

Below is the complete list of 2010 The Lexus Stakes Nominations, with betting on this race and all the other Victoria Derby Day features due to open at Luxbet on Wednesday when final fields are released.

2010 The Lexus Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Handicapper Rating
1 ABOVE AVERAGE (IRE) Lee Freedman 101
2 AJHAR (USA) Lee Freedman 90
3 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens 108
4 APPREHEND Tony Vasil 93
5 AT FIRST SIGHT (IRE) Robert Hickmott 105
6 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 108
7 CEDARBERG Pat Carey 94
8 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 95
9 DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Luca Cumani 107
10 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 95
11 GOTHIC CROWN Todd Balfour 60
12 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 108
13 INTERLOCKING (NZ) Robert Hickmott 76
14 JESSICABEEL (NZ) John O’Shea 108
15 LINTON Robert Hickmott 104
16 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 90
17 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 101
18 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 107
19 MUIR (GB) Robert Hickmott 86
20 MY BENTLEY (NZ) Michael Kent 82
21 ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse 108
22 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings 108
23 PURPLE Peter Snowden 107
24 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent 107
25 REPRISAL David Hayes 82
26 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 78
27 STANSTILL (IRE) Michael Kent 89
28 THE FUZZ (NZ) David Hayes 100
29 VALDEMORO Tony Vasil 101
30 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott 119

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field