Dizlago Wins 2010 Sportingbet Stakes – Caulfield Cup Day Race 3 Results

Lee Freedman’s well-bred filly Dizlago has won the third race at Caulfield Cup Day today, running to the line first ahead of a field of quality fillies in the $100,000 Listed Sportingbet Stakes (2000m).

Starting at $10 after not previously having handled a wet track, Dizlago was far too good for them today running an ideal Crown Oaks trial.

Dizlago settled well early, given the perfect ride by jockey Nicholas Hall.

In a gun run from an ideal barrier, Dizlago claimed a convincing win running her rivals ragged to finish an emphatic three lengths ahead of a Placement.

Placement was also eye-catching today, coming from the back of the field to crush the rest of the fillies and score second place.

In a photo-finish for third it was Bride Salama who narrowly got over ahead of the rest.

Dizlago, now a winner of two of her six career starts, is right on target for a run in the Crown Oaks at the Melbourne Cup Carnival on November 4 and is bred out of an Oaks winner Dizelle.

Odds-on favourite Our Pride And Joy was given every chance in the run early, but drifted out and was well beaten by the end.

The next event to get your bets down for at Ladbrokes.com.au is Race 4 – the $125,000 Group 3 Norman Robinson Stakes (2000m) due to jump at 1:20pm (AEDST).

Retrieve is the hot favourite at $2.25 so get behind this talented runner at the best price possible by signing up with Ladbrokes.com.au now!

2010 Sportingbet Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 4 DIZLAGO(1) Nicholas Hall Lee Freedman 54.5 2-8.44
2nd 10 PLACEMENT(3) James Winks Danny O’Brien 54.0 3.3L
3rd 7 BRIDE SALAMA(5) Michael Walker Anthony Cummings 54.0 7.0L
4th 2 ZUTARA(9) Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 58.5 7.1L
4th 11 NOTJUSTAPRETTYFACE(4) Blake Shinn Matthew Dale 54.0 7.1L
6th 8 OUR PRIDE AND JOY(7) Craig Williams Patrick Payne 54.0 7.3L
7th 5 GOLDEN TABBY(6) Mark Pegus Lee Freedman 54.5 11.1L
8th 12 SERENE TANIE(8) Gerald Mosse Robbie Laing 54.0 17.1L
9th 3 SPEED OF DARK(2) Glen Boss Grant Craven 57.0 17.3L
Src 1 PRECIOUS LORRAINE Steven Arnold David Hayes
Src 6 VERY CHERRY Brent Stanley Leon Corstens
Src 9 ELITE EBONY Danny Nikolic Michael Templeton