Spring Stars Line Up in 2010 Turnbull Stakes Final Field

September 29, 2010

Spring Stars Line Up in 2010 Turnbull Stakes Final Field

This Sunday at Flemington’s rescheduled Melbourne Cup Preview Day, a star studded line-up of the spring’s hottest contenders will take to the track in the $500,000 Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m).

The 2010 Turnbull Stakes has drawn a capacity field of 16 horses plus four emergencies including last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Shocking.

Shocking, a Mark Kavanagh-trained Street Cry five-year-old, will be out to maintain his unbeaten record at Flemington and improve from his last start fifth to So You Think in the Underwood Stakes at Caulfield.

Shocking will be ridden by champion hoop Michael Rodd but has suffered a blow drawing out wide in barrier 14.

Equal favourite to win the 2010 Melbourne Cup following an eye-catching second in the Underwood Stakes, Bart Cummings’ Queensland Derby winning mare Dariana is another topliner in Sunday’s Turnbull Stakes.

Dariana has also drawn poorly with barrier 19 and will have Steven Arnold aboard.

Faint Perfume is the other classy contender for Cummings in the Turnbull Stakes, the four-year-old Shamardal mare looking to return to form after two less-than-impressive spring starts having drawn better in barrier five.

Coming up trumps in the Turnbull Stakes barriers was the Michael Moroney-trained Monaco Consul, the winner of last year’s Victoria Derby due to jump from the coveted gate one.

One horse not to be underestimated on Sunday is the John Wallace-trained Shoot Out drawn ideally in barrier two.

High Chaparral gelding Shoot Out has had two unlucky spring starts this season finishing third in both the Memsie Stakes at Caulfield and the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes at Moonee Valley but is tipped to improve in the Turnbull with the step up to 2000m and the extra space provided on the Flemington track.

Other notable Turnbull Stakes runners include Horse of the Year Typhoon Tracy (barrier 10), and John O’shea’s duo Jessicabeel (barrier 20) and Zabrasive (barrier 12), Rosehill Guineas winner Zabrasive racing with blinkers on to help improve the Zabeel gelding’s form.

The Turnbull Stakes is one of four great Group races at Flemington this Sunday with other highlights including the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes (1600m) for three-year-old fillies, the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) and the Group 2 Blazer Stakes (1400m) for mares.

Australia’s favourite online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au will open their Turnbull Stakes betting shortly so sign up with them to get the best odds available!

Note: C’est La Guerre has been scratched from the 2010 Turnbull Stakes and will run in the Group 3 Craven Plate at Randwick on Saturday instead.

2010 Turnbull Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Weights

# Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 14 59 117
2 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 6 59 116
3 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Ben Melham 9 59 111
4 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 15 59 116
5 SHOOT OUT John Wallace Stathi Katsidis 2 58 115
6 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 1 58 108
7 VIGOR (NZ) Danny O’Brien James Winks 13 57.5 111
8 SPEED GIFTED (GB) Lee Freedman Danny Nikolic 3 57.5 107
9 TYPHOON TRACY Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 10 57 117
10 ZABRASIVE (NZ) John O’Shea Craig Newitt 12 56.5 107
11 STERLING PRINCE (NZ) Wayne Hillis Steven King 4 56.5 102
12 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings Glen Boss 5 56 108
13 JESSICABEEL (NZ) John O’Shea Mark Zahra 20 55.5 108
14 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan Blake Shinn 8 55.5 108
15 DARIANA Bart Cummings Steven Arnold 19 54.5 109
16 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Dwayne Dunn 17 54.5 111
17e RAFFAELLO Jim Marconi 11 55 104
18e MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 7 55 101
19e SCRATCHED C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 18 54.5 108
20e VALDEMORO Tony Vasil Jason Maskiell (a) 16 51.5 102

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field