Typhoon Tracy Wins Australian Racehorse of the Year Honours

Star mare Typhoon Tracy has claimed the honours as Australia’s Racehorse of the Year for the 2009-10 season, topping a off a sensational 12 months of racing for Caulfield trainer Peter Moody.

A now five-year-old daughter of Red Ransom, Typhoon Tracy enjoyed four prestigious Group 1 victories last season earning her the title of the nation’s champion horse, announced at a glamorous awards night on Sunday at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium.

The 2010 CF Orr Stakes was one of Typhon Tracy's four Group 1 wins. Photo courtesy © Taron Clarke Photography

Her mentor Moody was already elated having won the Melbourne Trainers’ Premiership for the same season.

When the votes for the Sky Racing World Australian Racehorse of the Year were counted, Typhoon Tracy had attracted a massive percentage with 215 votes, nearly double that of the runner-up Starspangledbanner with 113.

Leon Corstens’ boom sprinter Starspangledbanner was a surprise choice for the second spot as the son of Choisir was up against other champions from last season including Cox Plate winner So You Think and AJC Derby champion Shoot Out who received just 61 and 38 votes respectively.

Starspangledbanner also enjoyed wins in the Inglis Bloodstock Champion Sprinter category for his victory in the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m), edging out Typhoon Tracy by just two votes, and was named the favourite Australian-bred International horse beating Hong Kong superstar Sacred Kingdom.

To date, Typhoon Tracy has started 15 times for 10 wins, a second and a third earning an incredible $2,004,100 in career prizemoney.

Her Group 1 wins from the season were in the Myer Classic (1600m) at Flemington and Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill in mares company, and the CF Orr Stakes (1400m) and Futurity Stakes (1600m) at Caulfield against open fields of rivals during the autumn.

Typhoon Tracy was also celebrated as the Mittys Champion Middle Distance Performer.

Other awards handed out on the night included one to the Bart Cummings-trained So You Think in the Coolmore Australia Champion 3YO Colt or Gelding category, with the Cups King also taking out the Champion 3YO Filly award with the brilliant Faint Perfume.

Cummings was further recognised as the season’s leading Group 1 trainer having prepared seven elite level winners.

Taking out the title in the two-year-old championship category was Golden Slipper winner Crystal Lily with 272 votes ahead of Magic Millions star Military Rose with 100.

The night also saw seven new inductees welcomed into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame with jockeys Billy Pyers and John Letts, trainers Harry Plant and Jim Atkins, administrator Henry Byron Moore and horses Sky High and Northerly.

Capping things off was the elevation of triple Melbourne Cup winning glamour mare Makybe Diva to Legend Status in the Hall of Fame.

See below for the full list of award winners from Sunday night.

Typhoon Tracy ran a solid fourth to So You Think in her first-up spring start in the Group 2 Memsie Stakes (1400m) a fortnight ago and will seek more success this season.

The 2010 Cox Plate at Moonee Valley on October 23 is her primary target and she currently occupies the fifth line of betting in the early Plate betting markets paying $17 through Ladbrokes.com.au.

Get in on the Australian Racehorse of the Year Typhoon Tracy’s generous early Cox Plate odds before they shorten by signing up with Ladbrokes.com.au today!

SKY Racing World Australian Racehorse of the Year

Typhoon Tracy

Yallmabee Stud Champion 2YO

Crystal Lily

New Zealand Bloodstock Champion 3YO Filly

Faint Perfume

Coolmore Australian Champion Colt or Gelding

So You Think

Inglis Bloodstock Champion Sprinter


Mittys Champion Middle Distance Performer

Typhoon Tracy

New Zealand Thoroughbred Marketing Champion Stayer


Design Awards Champion Jumper

Black And Bent

IRT Champion Australian-Bred International