2010 Danehill Stakes Won By Soul – Star Witness Scratched

The Group Two Danehill Stakes (1400m) took to Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse on Saturday afternoon, and resulted in Soul saluting the victory.

The Peter Snowden-trained runner overcame a field of nine horses to claim the 2010 Danehill Stakes victory, and has cemented himself as an emerging star of the spring.

The lightly raced three-year-old had Mark Zahra in the saddle and the pair proved too strong as they raced down the straight perfectly.

The son of Commands defeated the solid run of Buffering by three-quarters of a length into second, with General Truce a further short neck back in third.

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Star Witness headed into the 2010 Danehill stakes as the favourite for the win with Ladbrokes.com.au, but was a late scratch due to a slight injury.

Snowden is looking at the Group One Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) on October 30 as a potential target for the 2010 Danehill Stakes champion.

Also taking place at Flemington on Saturday was the headlining Group Two Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m), the Group Two Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m), the Group Three Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) and five other thrilling events.

2010 Danehill Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Soul Peter Snowden Mark Zahra
2 Buffering Robert Heathcote Danny Nikolic
3 General Truce Ricky Maund Jim Cassidy
4 Smokin’ Joey Lee Freedman Damien Oliver
5 Rekindled Interest Jim Conlan Craig Williams
6 Military Rose Gillian Heinrich Dwayne Dunn
7 Storm Burst Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
8 Innocent Gamble Mark Riley Nicholas Hall
9 Columbus David Hayes Brad Rawiller
Scratched Star Witness Danny O’Brien James Winks
Scratched Shrapnel Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd