Toorak Toff Overcomes Odds To Claim The 2010 Golden Rose Win Over Squamosa

August 29, 2010

Toorak Toff Overcomes Odds To Claim The 2010 Golden Rose Win Over Squamosa

The pinnacle of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival lit up Sydney’s Rosehill Gardens Racecourse yesterday, as 15 runners battled it out in the $1 million Group One Golden Rose (1400m).

Toorak Toff overcame the odds in the 2010 Golden Rose to claim the win; showing to punters if you go against the markets you can reap some decent rewards.

It was a gallant run from the three-year-old which was guided from the saddle by top jockey Damien Oliver. There was just one-and-a-half lengths separating the top six finishers, in what was a thrilling finish.

The win marks the end of trainer Rick Hore-Lacy’s elite race-winning drought, not having won a Group One race for six years. It was also the first time the Golden Rose has been won by a Victorian-trained three-year-old.

The Run To The Rose winner Squamosa was superb from barrier 14. The previously unbeaten colt saw Nash Rawiller take the reins, and the pair was simply devastating.

Trainer Gai Waterhouse has every confidence in the three-year-old that big things will occur this spring, so keep an eye on the odds at

Ilovethiscity ran well to finish third, with Decision Time back in fourth.
Early interception in the race saw Masquerader, the pre race favourite at pushed out wide, and finished in a disappointing seventh.

Golden Slipper winner Crystal Lily returned to the track in the 2010 Golden Rose. The Stratum filly finished in a disappointing 10th place with favoured jockey Brett Prebble guiding from the saddle.

Also taking place on Saturday was the $125,000 Group Three Concorde Stakes (1100m) which saw Reward For Effort claim the honours in a superb run. If you would like to follow any of the runners’ spring campaigns, make sure you’re signed up to for the best odds and offers!

2010 Golden Rose Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Toorak Toff Rick Hore-Lacy Damien Oliver
2 Squamosa Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller
3 Ilovethiscity Grahame Begg Joshua Parr
4 Decision Time Clarry Conners Blake Shinn
5 Sasa Tim Martin Tye Angland
6 Kudakulari (NZ) Bar Cummings Brenton Avdulla
7 Masquerader David Payne Hugh Bowman
8 Top Drop Gerald Ryan Jay Ford
9 Gybe Anthony Cummings Tim Clark
10 Chance Bye Michael Tubman Kathy O’Hara
11 Crystal Lily M Ellerton & S Zahra Brett Prebble
12 Hinchinbrook Gerald Ryan Corey Brown
13 Praecido (NZ) David Payne Glyn Schofield
14 Run For Levi John P Thompson Peter Robl
15 Panipique Peter G Moody Jim Cassidy

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The E...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The Everest After Brisbane Winter

It is shaping-up as a huge year for Benjamin Smith’s class mare In Her Time...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 for Trapeze Artist

The world’s richest race on turf, the 2018 The Everest, will be firmly on the...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field