2010 T J Smith Stakes Won by Melito

April 12, 2010

2010 T J Smith Stakes Won by Melito

The Gerald Ryan-trained filly Melito claimed a gallant victory at Randwick on Saturday when she defeated an open field of rivals in the $500,000 Group 1 T J Smith Stakes (1200m).

The three-year-old Redoute’s Choice filly was ridden expertly by Blake Shinn, who held her back up until the final 200m, when she charged away from the pack leaving the six other 2010 T J Smith contenders in her wake.

Originally paid-up for and intended to start in the $150,000 Group 2 Sapphire Stakes (1200m) on Saturday, Melito was also accepted into the T J Smith final field and after the small number of acceptors in the Group 1 event plans were changed.

Starting at double figure odds, Melito ($10) showed Ryan he had made the right decision beating home Hot Danish ($3.90) by three-quarters of a length with Mic Mac ($3.30 F) a short-head away in third.

The top three placegetters will clash again in a fortnight when they contest the $300,000 Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) on Sydney Cup Day, April 24.

The victory proved Melito was a promising sprinter and not a stayer as Ryan had originally thought. Her staying career was cut short when she placed last in the Crown Oaks at Flemington last spring, and her win on Saturday was made even sweeter by her unlucky past campaign.

The headline event at Randwick on Saturday was Shoot Out’s win in the $1. 3million Group 1 AJC Australian Stakes (2400m).

Other feature races at the meeting included the $300,000 Group 1 AJC Sires Produce Stakes (1400m) where roughie Yosei claimed an upset win and the $150,000 Group 2 Chairman’s Handicap (2600m) won by the up-and-coming Zabeel mare Jessicabeel.

For more details on Melito’s win in the 2010 T J Smith Stakes click on the race name.

Darley T J Smith Stakes Results for 2010:





Gerald Ryan Blake Shinn
Les Bridge Tim Clark
Greg Eurell Hugh Bowman
Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
Joseph Pride Nash Rawiller
Chris Waller Damien Oliver
Andrew R Campbell Jason Waddell

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field