Nicconi Wins 2010 Lightning Stakes

January 31, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Nicconi Wins 2010 Lightning Stakes

On Saturday, prolific trainer David Hayes secured the first Group 1 race for 2010 in Australia when his four-year-old sprinter Nicconi claimed victory in the $500 000 Coolmore Lightning Stakes (1000m) at Flemington.

Nicconi ($5) ran strong down the centre, overcoming his wide barrier draw to come from last to first, defeating the Peter Moody-trained Wanted ($9) by a long head with Shellscrape ($9) a length back in third.

Moody?s other two entrants, Headway and Duporth finished fifth and sixth respectively.

The victory was Nicconi?s second Group 1 victory and brought his career record to six wins from 13 starts. The son of Bianconi is quickly closing in on the $1million stakes earnings, having now won $988 450 in prizemoney.

It was the fifth Lightning Stakes victory for Damien Oliver, the champion hoop who was aboard Nicconi for Saturday?s win. Oliver?s previous Lightning Stakes wins were on Schillaci (1992 & 1993), Gold Ace (1996) and Testa Arossa (2000).

Hayes? victory was made even sweeter as he had previously been forced to scratch his top filly Irish Lights from the Lightning Stakes by her owners Coolmore Stud.

Coolmore Stud also own Starspangledbanner, who started the race as the $3.90 favourite, after purchasing the three-year-old Choisir colt the night before the race for a pricey $10 million and did not want both running in the same race.

Recent winner of the Caulfield Guineas winner, Starspangledbanner could only manage fourth on the day, finishing a nose back from third placegetter Shellscrape.

Despite a disappointing finish, Cannonball still made history in the Lightning Stakes on Saturday, the ninth placegetter becoming the first US trained thoroughbred to compete in Australia.

The Anthony Cummings-trained Sister Madly was also scratched from the race, leaving only 11 horses contesting the Group 1 feature.

Cummings did have some success at the coveted meeting, however, when his runner Tallow took out the Group 3 The Vanity.

Hayes now has international plans for his Lightning Stakes winner, with Nicconi expected to race in both Dubai and England later in the year.

2010 Lightning Stakes Results:





David Hayes Damien Oliver
Peter G Moody Brad Rawiller
Chris Waller Corey Brown
Leon Corstens Danny Nikolic
Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
Peter G Moody Steven Arnold
Anthony Cummings Tim Clark
Barry Baldwin Shane Scriven
Wesley Ward Patrick Valenzuela
John P Thompson Michael Rodd
Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field