2011 Rosehill Guineas Nominations & AJC Derby Odds Update

March 22, 2011

2011 Rosehill Guineas Nominations & AJC Derby Odds Update

The $500,000 Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) is the feature Sydney Autumn Carnival race running this Saturday March 26 and 20 three-year-olds have been nominated for the showdown.

Running as part of the elite line-up at Rosehill Gardens on Saturday, the 2011 Rosehill Guineas is an ideal preparatory run for horses heading towards a start in the $1.5 million Group 1 AJC Australian Derby (2400m) at Randwick on April 16.

Champion New Zealand galloper Jimmy Choux heads the early list of Rosehill Guineas nominees.

The consistent Thorn Park colt from Hastings in New Zealand is seeking his fourth consecutive victory having won all of his starts from Boxing Day until now at Group level in NZ.

Most recently Jimmy Choux claimed an excellent two length win in the Group 1 New Zealand Derby (2400m) on March 5 on a bog track proving that although not a genuine stayer, he can run and win over the 2400m.

Trainer John Bary was originally considering a crack at the Doncaster Mile with his stable star, but has since abandoned these plans with Jimmy Choux more suited to a face-off against fellow three-year-olds in the AJC Derby.

The last Kiwi trained horse to win the Australian Derby was the classy Nom Du Jeu in 2008.

Jimmy Choux currently sits on the third line of AJC Australian Derby betting at a quote of $8 through Luxbet.

The Michael Moroney-trained Absolutelyawesome is the $5 AJC Derby favourite followed by Peter Snowden’s Rahy colt Retrieve paying $7 and both top fancies are also among the Rosehill Guineas nominations.


Shamrocker is out to claim the Australian Guineas - Rosehill Guineas double on Saturday

Recent Group Winners among the 2011 Rosehill Guineas Nominees are:

  • Shamrocker (Danny O’Brien) – Smart O’Reilly filly claimed a massive upset winning the Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m) at Flemington last-start
  • Domesky (Michael Kent) – Cranbourne-based galloper showed great improvement winning the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (2040m) at Moonee Valley last Friday night

Other notable 2011 Rosehill Guineas entries include:

  • Anacheeva (Peter Moody) – Last year’s Caulfield Guineas winner fourth-up for the season, has been disappointing this year but finally running over 2000m should be much improved
  • Skilled (Peter Snowden) – Improving Commands colt finished in the money in all three starts this prep including a close second to Ilovethiscity in the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) on March 12
  • Light Brigade (Gai Waterhouse) – Up-and-coming son of Redoute’s Choice most recently placed third in the Randwick Guineas

The 2011 Rosehill Guineas final field and barrier draw will be out tomorrow and published here first at Races.com.au followed by the race form guide, odds and our insider tips.

Be the first to place your Rosehill Guineas bets at the best prices when markets open by signing up with the Tabcorp-owned and trusted Luxbet today.

New to join Luxbet? Quote the promotional codeword BONUSBET when you sign up and be instantly rewarded with a free bet valued up to $400!

2011 Rosehill Guineas Nominations

# Horse Trainer Ballot Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 JIMMY CHOUX (NZ) John Bary 1 56.5 105
2 ANACHEEVA Peter G Moody 2 56.5 107
3 PRESSDAY Chris Waller 4 56.5 99
4 RETRIEVE Peter Snowden 5 56.5 99
5 SKILLED Peter Snowden 6 56.5 102
6 MASQUERADER David Payne 7 56.5 94
7 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne 8 56.5 92
8 DOMESKY Michael Kent 9 56.5 87
9 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James 10 56.5 80
10 LIGHT BRIGADE Gai Waterhouse 11 56.5 80
11 GOLDSTONE Bart Cummings 12 56.5 74
12 MAULES CREEK John P Thompson 13 56.5 71
13 ABSOLUTELYAWESOME (NZ) Michael Moroney 14 56.5 78
14 SHOOTOFF (NZ) Graeme Rogerson 15 56.5 69
15 GILDED SPUR Anthony Cummings 16 56.5 70
16 PARAMOUR Tony Noonan 17 56.5
17 DON’T PUT IT THERE (NZ) Jim & Greg Lee 19 56.5
18 DUCARIUS Paul Perry 20 56.5
19 SHAMROCKER (NZ) Danny O’Brien 3 54.5 105
20 DREAMWORKER Grahame Begg 18 54.5

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?