2011 Standish Handicap won by Ahdashim

January 4, 2011

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2011 Standish Handicap won by Ahdashim

On New Year’s Day the Group 3 Standish Handicap was run at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. This 1200m race, worth $200,000 in prize money, was won by sprinter Ahdashim for trainer Gerald Ryan.

It was a special win for Gerald Ryan who as a jockey won the Standish Handicap in 1987 on board Burano in the same racing colours as worn by Ahdashim this year.

Riden by jockey Craig Williams, Ahdashim surged clear inside the last 100m to win from the fast finishing Chasm by 1.3 lengths with Eclair Mystic third.

Ahdashim’s next target after a break at his Rosehill stables could be Victoria’s top sprint race, the $1 million Group 1 Newmarket Handicap over 1200m at Flemington on March 12th. Ryan believes that the Newmarket Handicap could appeal to the five-year-old Elusive City gelding as he has won two of his three races down the Flemington straight.

“We might give him a freshen up and come back down and have another crack at one of those sprint races in the autumn with him,” Ryan said. “He might be a lightweight chance in the Newmarket because he goes well up the straight.”

Ahdashim’s racing career now stands at 26 starts for 6 wins, 7 seconds and 2 thirds with a total of $462,375 in prize money.

2011 Standish Handicap Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 4 AHDASHIM(1) Craig Williams Gerald Ryan 54.5 1-9.16
2nd 1 CHASM(6) Ben Melham Heath Conners 57.0 1.3L
3rd 7 ECLAIR MYSTIC(7) Chris Symons Robert Smerdon 54.5 1.5L
4th 2 SECRET FLYER(11) Dwayne Dunn Mark Young 55.5 1.9L
5th 5 MISS OCTOPUSSY(5) Michael Rodd Tom Hughes 55.0 2.1L
6th 3 KEANO(4) Damien Oliver Danny O’Brien 55.0 3.1L
7th 11 ESPRIT DE BULLET(8) Craig Newitt Mark Lewis 54.5 4.6L
8th 8 ITS PRINCE(12) Stephen Baster Robbie Griffiths 54.5 5.3L
9th 13 DIAMONDCOWBOY(10) Michelle Payne Gary Sherer 54.5 7.1L
10th 9 KING HOAKS(13) Glen Boss Allison Bennett 54.5 8.8L
11th 10 XAVIER(3) Dean Yendall Robbie Laing 54.5 9.1L
12th 12 SHE’S GOT GEARS(2) Jason Maskiell Robbie Laing 54.5 12.9L
13th 6 BLACK PRINCE(9) Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 54.5 13.9L

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field