United States Triple Crown

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Click on the links to find more details on the three elite races that make up the United States Triple Crown:

The United States was one of the original countries to conduct a three-year-old Triple Crown series and the U.S. Triple Crown is by far the most popular and recognised of all those held across the globe. The three events, held during May and early June annually that make up the title are the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes. The Triple Crown in the U.S. came to be after owners and trainers began sending their horses to the Preakness and Belmont Stakes after they had run in the esteemed Kentucky Derby because these were the other two races to offer the most in prizemoney. The expression ‘Triple Crown’ came into play in 1930 when Gallant Fox became only the second horse in history to claim victory in all three races; the first was Sir Barton in 1919. When writing about Gallant Fox’s incredible achievement, sportswriter Charles Hatton coined the phrase and brought it into American usage.

The first leg of the series is the Kentucky Derby, which is held at the Churchill Downs racetrack on the first Saturday in May. It is raced over 1 ? miles (2012m) under set weight conditions and is worth U.S. $2 million.

The middle leg of the series is the Preakness Stakes that takes place on the third Saturday of May. Held at the Pimlico Race Course in Maryland, the race is run over a distance of 1 3/16 miles (1911m) under set weight conditions and is worth U.S. $1.1 million.

The final leg of the series is the Belmont Stakes held at Belmont Park racecourse in New York on the first or second Saturday in June. The race is run over 1 ? miles (2414m) under set weight conditions and offers a prize purse of U.S. $1 million.

Throughout history there have been 11 horses to win the Triple Crown, ridden by eleven different jockeys. The last was Affirmed back in 1978 creating a Triple Crown victory drought of over thirty years. Because of this gap, a win in the Triple Crown today would be considered even more impressive. The details of the United States Triple Crown winners are listed in the table below, including the name of the jockey, trainer and owner for each horse to achieve this incredible feat.

United States Triple Crown Winners:






Sir Barton
Johnny Loftus H.G. Bedwell J.K.L. Ross
Gallant Fox
Earl Sande Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
Willie Saunders Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
War Admiral
Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddel
Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
Count Fleet
Johnny Longden Don Cameron Fannie Hertz
Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
Eddie Arcaro Horace A. Jones Calumet Farm
Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
Seattle Slew
Jean Cruguet Willian H. Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera Harbor View Farm

Many other quality horses have come close to Triple Crown success, seeing victory in two of the three nominated events. A total of 21 horses have won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes; 18 have won the Preakness Stakes followed by success in the Belmont Stakes; and 11 horses have been victorious in the first and last leg of the series missing out on the Preakness Stakes.

The most successful Triple Crown trainers include Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons, the only trainer to have won two Triple Crowns with Gallant Fox (1930) and Omaha (1935). And D. Wayne Lukas, the only trainer, owner or jockey to win the Triple Crown races with different runners in 1995 with Thunder Gulch in the Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes and Timber Country in the Preakness Stakes.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field