Kikuka Sho

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Kikuka Sho ? Race Details:

Track Location:
Kyoto Racecourse, Fushimi-ku
Race Distance:
Race Status:
Grade 1
Race Conditions:
3YO Colts & Fillies at Set Weights
Colts- 57kg / Fillies- 55kg
?269, 750, 000

The Kikuka Sho, or Japanese St. Leger, is the third and final race in the esteemed Japanese Triple Crown and is the Japanese version of the English St. Leger Stakes. Raced over a distance of 3000m, it is the longest and most testing of all three Triple Crown races. A Grade 1 flat race, the Kikuka Sho is open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies at set weights and excludes geldings. It is held annually in October at the Kyoto Racecourse in Fushimi-ku and is worth ?269, 750, 000. The inaugural race was held in 1938 and won by Tetsumon.

As the last Triple Crown race the stakes are high for runners coming into the event having won the first two legs of the series, the Satsuki Sho and the Tokyo Yushun. The last horse to win the coveted Triple Crown was Deep Impact in 2005. The following year in 2006, Meisho Samsun came close to a Triple Crown sweep. He won the first two races and then failed to win in the Kikuka Sho.

Punters backing the favourites in the Kikuka Sho in recent years have not seen much success as Deep Impact in 2005 was the only favourite to win the race in the last decade. Also, when betting on the Japanese St. Leger look for entries who have participated in a couple of prep races, as all the victors in the last ten years have had at least one Autumn race before taking out the Kikuka Sho. A good lead-up race is the Kobe Shimbun Hai (2400m) in September, having produced half the Japanese St. Leger winners since 2000. Another Kikuka Sho trial race is the St. Lite Kinen (2200m) held at Nakayama Racecourse in September.

The race record for the Kikuka Sho was set by Song of Wind in 2006 with a time of 3:02.7.

Kikuka Sho ? Recent Race Results:







Oken Bruce Lee
Hiroyuki Uchida Hidetaka Otonashi Akira Fukui 3:05.7
Asakusa Kings
Hirofumi Shii Ryuji Okubo Keiko Tahara 3:05.1
Song of Wind
Koshiro Take Hidekazu Asami Shadai Racehorse Co. 3:02.7
Deep Impact
Yutaka Take Yasuo Ikee Kaneko Makoto Holdings Co. 3:04.6
Delta Blues
Yasunari Iwata Katsuhiko Sumii Sunday Racing Co. 3:04.8
That’s the Plenty
Katsumi Ando Kojiro Hashiguchi Shadai Racehorse Co. 3:04.8
Hishi Miracle
Koichi Tsunoda Masaru Sayama Masaichiro Abe 3:05.9
Manhattan Cafe
Masayoshi Ebina Futoshi Kojima Kiyoshi Nishikawa 3:07.2

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field