Japanese Triple Crown

Click on the links to find more details on the three elite races that make up the Japan Triple Crown:

The Japanese Triple Crown series for three-year-old thoroughbreds is one of the most coveted titles a horse can hope to win. There are three renowned races that make up the event are listed below.

The Satsuki Sho is the first leg of the Triple Crown in Japan, also known as the Japanese 2000 Guineas. It is run over 2000m in April annually at the Nakayama Racecourse in Chiba and is worth ?235, 380, 000.

The second crown in the Japanese Triple Crown is the Tokyo Yushun or Japanese Derby. Held at the Tokyo Racecourse in late May or early June each year, it is raced over a distance of 2400m and offers prizemoney of ?343, 300, 3000.

The third and final event of this important Triple Crown is the Kikuka Sho, also referred to as the Japanese St. Leger. This 3000m distance race is run in October annually at the Kyoto Racecourse, with stake set at ?269, 750, 000.

Over time these three events have become known as the ?test of speed? (Satsuki Sho), the ?test of luck? (Tokyo Yushun) and the ?test of strength? (Kikuka Sho).

Throughout history there has only ever been six horses to win the Japanese Triple Crown:





Sir Lite
Tanaka Kazuitichiro Kato Yusaku.
Bungo Takeda Kokichi Hashimoto.
Mr. C.B.
Yasuhisa Matsuyama Marunuma Onsen Hotel Co.
Symboli Rudolf
Yuuji Nohira Symboli Farm.
Narita Brian
Masaaki Ookubo Hidenori Yamaji
Deep Impact
Yasuo Ikee Kaneko Makoto Holdings Co.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field