Irish St. Leger

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Irish St. Leger ? Race Details:

Track Location:
Curragh Racecourse, Co. Kildare
Race Distance:
1 mile 6 furlongs (2816metres)
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
Three-year-olds & up at Set Weights
?275 000

The Irish St. Leger is the last event to make up the prestigious Irish Triple Crown. Run over a distance of 1 mile, 6 furlongs at the Curragh Racecourse in September each year, this Group 1 flat race conducted on a right-handed turf track is worth ?275 000. Open to thoroughbred horses aged three-years and older, it is the only Triple Crown race to allow entries older than three to compete since the ruling was introduced in 1983.

The inaugural race in 1915 was won by the James Dunne-trained La Paloma, when the event was restricted to three-year-old entries only. It is the youngest of the Irish Classics and is based around the St. Leger Stakes in England, with many of the same horses contending both events. The English St. Leger is therefore considered a good prep race for the Irish version, with many eager punters keen to see how horses perform in the British event before making their selections. The first horse to win this St. Leger double was Royal Lancer in 1922.

A number of horses have claimed multiple victories in this final Irish Classics race, the most successful of which is Vinnie Roe who secured four consecutive victories from 2001 ? 2004. Other runners to win more than one Irish St. Leger include Kayf Tara (1998 & 1999), Oscar Schindler (1996 & 1997) and Vintage Crop (1993 & 1994). Because of this multiple wins record, many punters choose to back the previous year?s winner, if that win was their first in the Irish St. Leger.

The Irish St. Leger is one of the most highly bet on races in Ireland. It is so popular with the punters as it is held at the end of the season and racing enthusiasts have had plenty of chances to gauge the form of the runners in the previous Classics in England and Ireland. Also, other key racing festivals including the Royal Ascot and Glorious Goodwood meetings provide other opportunities to see the Irish St. Leger entries in action before betting. The best tip when betting on the race is to back champion stayers who have secured at least one Group 1 victory in a race greater than a mile and a half.

Many runners will continue their campaigns with a run in the prestigious Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) in Australia, as the long distance of this November event is well suited to the horses who handle the testing length of the Irish St. Leger. Horses who win both of these distance races are awarded an AU$500 000 bonus.

Irish St. Leger ? Records:

Most Successful Jockey:
Morny Wing secured seven Irish St. Leger wins over their riding career with Kirkk-Alloway (1920), O?Dempsey (1923), Sol de Terre (1930), Ochiltree (1938), Windsor Slipper (1942), Spam (1945) and Esprit de France (1947).
Most Successful Trainer:
Vincent O?Brien amassed an impressive nine wins with Barclay (1959), White Gloves (1966), Reindeer (1969), Caucasus (1975), Meneval (1976), Transworld (1977), Gonzales (1980), Leading Counsel (1985) and Dark Lomond (1988).

Irish St. Leger ? Recent Race Results:








4 Michael Kinane John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 3:14.82
5 Seamus Heffernan Aidan O’Brien Smith/Magnier/Tabor 3:11.97
6 Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Magnier/ Nagle 3:03.40
5 Michael Kinane John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 3:01.00
Collier Hill
7 Dean McKeown Alan Swinbank Hall / Young 3:01.20
Vinnie Roe
6 Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Seamus Sheridan 3:03.90
Vinnie Roe
5 Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Seamus Sheridan 2:58.90
Vinnie Roe
4 Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Seamus Sheridan 2:59.00
Vinne Roe
3 Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Seamus Sheridan 2:58.40
Arctic Owl
6 David Harrison James Fanshawe The Owl Society 3:02.20

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field