Irish Derby

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Irish Derby ? Race Details:

Late June or Early July
Track Location:
Curragh Racecourse, Co. Kildare
Race Distance:
1 mile 4 furlongs (2414 metres)
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
Three-year-old colts and fillies

The ?1.5million Irish Derby is the second leg of the Irish Triple Crown, and the richest of the three races that make up this coveted series. Run in late June or early July each year at the Curragh Racecourse, it is run over a distance of 1 mile, 4 furlongs on a right-handed turf track. Only three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies, geldings excluded, may compete in this Group 1 flat race.

First run in 1866 when Selim claimed victory, the race is the Irish version of the English Derby Stakes and is held three weeks after this British event. Originally run over 1 mile and 6 furlongs, the race distance was cut to its current length in 1872 and it is the oldest of the five Irish Classics.

Many runners in the Irish Derby have come via the Epsom Derby Stakes in England, and this British counterpart is an excellent race for punters to gauge the form of the entries prior to placing their bets. 14 horses have won both the English and British versions of this race in the same season, the first was Santa Claus (1964) and the most recent horse to take out this Derby double was High Chaparral (2002). It is also a good tip to look at the top five finishers in the Epsom Derby when making your Place bets on the Irish Derby as a number of entries, although have not claimed victory, have placed in both of these esteemed Group 1 races.

Other excellent lead-up races held earlier in the season that help to uncover the top three-year-olds of the year include the first leg of the Triple Crown the Irish 2000 Guineas (1mile) and the Group 1 French Prix du Jockey Club (1mile 2 ? furlongs), which is the French equivalent to the race. Also watch for the winners and placegetters in the Group 2 Derrinstown Stud Trial Derby (1m 2f) in May at Leopardstown, as many have gone on to see success in the Epsom and Irish Derbies. Because of the race?s profile and its international counterparts the field of runners is made up of not only the best local gallopers but elite contenders from Europe as well.

Aside from the three-year-olds? form, it is also important to keep an eye on the leading trainers who have participated in the English Classic races that season, and who have had previous success in the Irish Derby. The trainer who has dominated the Irish Derby scene in recent years is Aidan O?Brien boasting six wins since 1997. His entries often provide the ante-post favourite in the lead-up to the race, and punters backing the favourite have been well rewarded in the last decade. Other trainers to keep an eye on include James Bolger, Dermot Weld, Devin Prendergast and John Oxx.

The race is currently sponsored by Dubai Duty Free, who commenced sponsorship in 2008. The previous sponsor was Budweiser from 1986 ? 2007. The Irish Derby takes place as part of the Irish Derby Festival, which is the most anticipated event on the Irish racing calendar.

Irish Derby ? Records:

Most Successful Jockey:
Morny Wing managed an impressive six wins with Ballyheron (1921), Waygood (1923), Rock Star (1930), Rosewell (1938), Windsor Slipper (1942) and Bright New (1946).
Most Successful Trainer:
World class trainer Aidan O?Brien has amassed an incredible seven Irish Derby victories with Desert King (1997), Galileo (2001), High Chaparral (2002), Dylan Thomas (2006), Soldier of Fortune (2007), Frozen Fire (2008) and Fame And Glory (2009).

Irish Derby ? Recent Race Results:







Fame and Glory
Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor 2:30.87
Frozen Fire
Seamus Heffernan Aidan O’Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor 2:31.96
Soldier of Fortune
Seamus Heffernan Aidan O’Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor 2:36.02
Dylan Thomas
Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Magnier / Tabor 2:29.70
Hurricane Run
Kieren Fallon Andre Fabre Michael Tabor 2:29.40
Grey Swallow
Pat Smullen Dermot Weld Rochelle Quinn 2:28.70
Johnny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 2:28.20
High Chaparral
Michael Kinane Aidan O’Brien Tabor / Magnier 2:32.20
Michael Kinane Aidan O’Brien Tabor / Magnier 2:27.10
Jonny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 2:33.90

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field