Irish 2000 Guineas

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Irish 2000 Guineas ? Race Details:

Track Location:
Curragh Racecourse, Co. Kildare
Race Distance:
1 mile (1609 metres)
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
Three-year-old Colts and Fillies at Set Weights
?400 000

The Irish 2000 Guineas is the first jewel in the Ireland Triple Crown and is held at the Curragh Racecourse in May each year. Open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies, geldings are excluded from this Group 1 flat race that is run over 1 mile on a right-handed turf track. Today the stakes are set at ?400 000.

Irish-trained Soldennis was the inaugural winner of the Irish 2000 Guineas when it was first run in 1921. It is the second Irish Classic conducted at The Curragh each year, following the Irish 1000 Guineas which is the fillies? equivalent.

The Irish 2000 Guineas is modelled around the English version, the 2000 Guineas Stakes. It takes place three weeks after its English counterpart and many horses making up the field have previously competed in the British 2000 Guineas Stakes. Throughout history there have been seven runners to claim victory in both of these Group 1 races, Right Track (1969), Don?t Forget Me (1987), Tirol (1990), Rodrigo de Triano (1993), Rock of Gibraltar (2002), Cockney Rebel (2007) and Henrythenavigator (2003). So make sure to check out the form of entries in this earlier British race as a good guide to your Irish 2000 Guineas wagers.

Because the Irish 2000 is held so early in the racing season, there are not many other prep races for punters to watch to help aid them in selecting their favourites for the event. Therefore, it is essential to look at the performance of the two-year-old colts and geldings over similar short-distance races in the previous racing season. Also look for entries who have some experience on the Curragh track and sprinters who display speed above stamina.

Another thing to watch when betting on the Irish 2000 Guineas aside from the horses? form is the career statistics of the trainers. The status and prestige of this race attracts many of the top thoroughbred trainers from all over the world. Some of the leading trainers who have achieved much success at Curragh and whose entries are worth considering for your Irish 2000 bets include Aidan O?Brien, Jim Bolger, Dermot Weld and Saeed bin Suroor.

Horses that do well in the race may then be aimed at the Group 1 St. James?s Palace Stakes (1mile) the following month at Ascot Racecourse. Runners may also try for a celebrated and extremely challenging Triple Crown victory by contesting the next two legs of the series, the Irish Derby (1m4f) in July and the Irish St. Leger (1m6f) in September.

There has only ever been one filly to claim victory in the race, the excellent mare Triptych in 1985, who went on to collect nine Group 1 wins throughout her racing career. Irish and English trained horses have seen the most success on the field in the Irish 2000 Guineas, with only one American trained entry ever claiming victory, Fourstars Allstar (1991).

Irish 2000 Guineas ? Records:

Most Successful Jockey (since 1950):
Christy Rouche achieved four Irish 2000 Guineas victories with Ballymore (1972), Nikoli (1980), Triptych (1985) and Desert King (1997).
Most Successful Trainer (since 1950):
The famous Aidan O?Brien has had six wins with Desert King (1997), Saffron Walden (1999), Black Minnaloushe (2001), Rock of Gibraltar (2002), Henrythenavigator (2003) and Mastercraftsman (2009).

Irish 2000 Guineas ? Recent Race Results:







Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor 1:48.16
Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Sue Magnier 1:39.63
Cockney Rebel
Olivier Preslier Geoff Huffer Phil Cunningham 1:36.10
Alan Munro Jeremy Noseda Al Homaizi / Al Sagar 1:49.80
Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Goldolphin 1:41.60
Bachelor Duke
Seb Sanders James Toller Exors of Duke of Devonshire 1:40.00
Indian Haven
John Egan Paul D’Arch Gleeson / Smith / Conway 1:41.50
Rock of Gibraltar
Michael Kinane Aidan O’Brien Ferguson / Magnier 1:47.30
Black Minnaloushe
Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Sue Magnier 1:41.40
Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Goldolphin 1:39.80

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field