Epsom Derby

Epsom Derby ? Race Details:

Track Location:
Epsom Downs, Epsom
Race Distance:
1 mile, 4 furlongs, 10 yards (2423metres)
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
Three-year-old Thoroughbred Colts & Fillies
?1.25 million

The Group 1 Epsom Derby is the second leg in the highly revered English Triple Crown series. With stakes set at ?1.25 million it is also Britain?s most lucrative thoroughbred race and was first run in 1780 when Diomed won, making it one of the country?s oldest races as well. The event is run over 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 10 yards at Epsom Downs each June and only three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies are allowed to contend this English Classic.

As Britain?s most important Classic race, the Epsom Derby has inspired countries all around the world to host their own version of the event. International adaptations include the Prix du Jockey Club, the Irish Derby, the Deutsches Derby and the Derby Italiano.

The best lead-up race to the Epsom is the first jewel in the English Triple Crown, the 2000 Guineas (1mile) held at Newmarket in late April or early May. Following this, many runners in the Epsom Derby will continue on and compete in the final leg of the Triple Crown with hopes of earning a spot in the history books with the first Triple Crown victory since Nijinsky II in 1970.

The Epsom Derby, as well as the other Triple Crown races, attracts top-quality competitors from right across the globe eager to win one of the world?s most famous flat races. When betting on the Derby, a great way to check out the form and fitness of the entries is to see how they ran and performed in the Derby Trial races. There are a number of trial races run between April and May every year in the lead-up to this important event, the most significant of which include:

Gr. 3 Ballysax Stakes (1 mile 2 furlongs) at Leopardstown in April
Gr. 3 Sandown Classic Trial (1 mile 2 furlongs) at Sandown Park in late April
Gr. 3 Chester Vase (1 mile 4 furlongs) in May
Gr.3 Dee Stakes (1 mile 2 furlongs) at Chester in May
Gr. 3 Lingfield Derby Trial (1 mile 3 furlongs) at Lingfield Park in May
Gr. 2 Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial (1 mile 2 furlongs) at Leopardstown in May

All of these races have proved great guides to the Epsom Derby over the years. For example, Derby winners Galileo (2001) and High Chaparral (2002) both triumphed first in the Ballysax Stakes. Lots of horses have also finished within the top three of these earlier events before going on to place in the Epsom, so make sure you consider these dominant horses with your Place bets as well as your Win wagers. All of these events also make for some great betting doubles over the season when paired with the Epsom Derby and there is some fantastic money to be made if you successfully select a colt or filly to win two of these races.

Betting on the favourites for the Epsom Derby has proved to be a smart investment for punters as the top two horses in the betting markets have won 25 of the past 38 runnings of the race.

Epsom Derby ? Records:

Race Record:
2:32.31 set by Lammtarra in 1995
Largest Winning Margin:
Shergar by 10 lengths in 1981
Longest-Priced Winners:
Jedda (1898), Signorinetta (1908) and Aboyeur (1913) all at 100/1
Longest-Priced Placegetter:
Terimon placed second in 1989 at 500-1
Shortest ?Priced Winner:
Ladas (1894) at 2/9
Most Successful Jockey:
Lester Piggott amassed an amazing 9 Epsom Derby wins over his career with Never Say Die (1954), Crepello (1957), St. Paddy (1960), Sir Ivor (1968), Nijinsky (1970), Roberto (1972), Empery (1976), The Minstrel (1977) and Teenoso (1983).
Most Successful Trainer:
there have been three trainers to claim 7 victories in the Epsom Derby.
Robert Robson with Waxy (1793), Tyrant (1802), Pope (1809) Whalebone (1810), Whisker (1815), Azor (1817) and Emilius (1823).
John Porter with Blue Gown (1868), Shotover (1882), St. Blaise (1883), Ormonde (1886), Sainfoin (1890), Common (1891) and Flying Fox (1899).
Fred Darling with Captain Cuttle (1922), Manna (1925), Coronach (1926), Cameronian (1931), Bois Roussel (1938), Pont l?Eveque (1940) and Owen Tudor (1941).

Epsom Derby ? Recent Race Results:







Sea the Stars
Michael Kinane John Oxx Christoper Tsue 2:36.74
New Approach
Kevin Manning Jim Bolger Princess Haya of Jordan 2:36.50
Frankie Dettori Peter Chapple-Hyam Al Homaizi / Al Sagar 2:34.77
Sir Percy
Martin Dwyer Marcus Tregoning Anthony Pakenham 2:35.23
Johnny Murtagh Michael Bell Royal Ascot Racing Club 2:36.69
North Light
Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Ballymacoll Stud 2:33.72
Kris Kin
Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 2:33.35
High Chaparral
Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Magnier / Tabor 2:39.45
Michael Kinane Aidan O’Brien Magnier / Tabor 2:33.27
Johnny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 2:36.75

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field