Queen’s Plate

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Queen?s Plate ? Race Details:

Track Location:
Woodbine Racetrack Toronto, Ontario
Race Distance:
1 ? miles
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
3YO Canadian Bred ? Open – Set Weights
Set Weights:
Colts & Geldings- 57.2kg / Fillies- 54.9kg
CAN $1million

The Queen?s Plate, also referred to as the ?Gallop for the Guineas?, is the first leg in the highly esteemed Canadian Triple Crown series of racing for three-year-old thoroughbreds born in Canada. The event takes place each year in June at the esteemed Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto, Ontario. Run over 1 ? miles this Group 1 event is contested on a left-handed polytrack and stakes are set at CAN $1 million.

First run in 1860, the Queen?s Plate is the oldest continuously run North American thoroughbred race. Since 1995 the maximum number of starters in the event has been 17 due to safety regulations. The most successful stable in the Queen?s Plate was that owned by Joseph E. Seagram. His stable managed 20 wins in the race throughout 1891 and 1935. Windfields Farm is the second most prolific stable producing eleven Queen?s Plate winners.

There are a many races considered important preps for the coveted Queen?s Plate especially the ones listed in the official Queen?s Plate Prep schedule, which include the Achievement Stakes (6 furlongs), Woodstock Stakes (6 furlongs), Queenston Stakes (7 furlongs), Marine Stakes (1 1/16 miles), Plate Trial Stakes (1 ?miles), Victoria Park Stakes (1 ?miles), and the Woodbine Oaks (1 ? miles). Punters and other racing enthusiasts are always keen to see how the horses run in these races as a good guide for the Queen Plate and in turn the whole Triple Crown series.

Runners in the Queen?s Plate will almost always go on to compete in the other legs of the Triple Crown, the Prince of Wales Stakes (1 1/16 mile) in July and the Breeders? Stakes (1 ? mile) in August. To win all three events is a rarity and those horses who do gain a huge amount of status and prestige.

The Queens? Plate has been run over six different distances:

1 mile:
2 miles:
1 ? miles:
1 ? miles:
1 ? miles:
1887-1923 & 1957 onwards.
1 ? miles:

Queen?s Plate ? Records:

Race Record:
At the current 1 ? mile distance, which has been in place since 1957, the race record is 2:01.45 set by Izvestia in 1990. Izvestia also went on in the same year to take out the other two Triple Crown races becoming the fourth winner of this prestigious title.
Longest Priced Winner:
Maternal Pride (1924) at $193.35.
Most Successful Jockeys:
There are three jockeys who share this title with four Queen?s Plate victories each.
Avelino Gomez with Lyford Cay (1957), Victoria Park (1960), Tilted Hero, (1966) and Jumpin Joseph (1969).
Sandy Hawley with Almoner (1970), Kennedy Road (1971), L?Enjoleur (1975) and Regal Embrace (1978).
Robin Platts with Victoria Song (1972), Amber Herod (1974), Sound Reason (1977) and Key To The Moon (1984).
Most Successful Trainers:
Two trainers have secured an impressive eight Queen?s Plate wins each.
Harry Giddings, Jr. with St. Bass (1911), Hearts Of Oak (1913), Beehive (1914), St. Paul (1920), Froth Blower (1931), Queensway (1932), Horometer (1934) and Ten To Ace (1942).
Roger Attfield with Norcliffe (1976), Market Control (1987), With Approval (1989), Izvestia (1990), Alydeed (1992), Peteski (1993), Regal Discovery (1995) and Not Bourbon (2008).

Queen?s Plate ? Recent Race Results:





Winner’s Time

Eye of the Leopard
Mr Foricous Two U Milwaukee Appeal 2:03.84
Not Bourbon
Ginger Brew Solitaire 2:03.58
Mike Fox
Alezzandro Jiggs Coz 2:05.45
Sterwins Malakoff 2:05.30
Wild Desert
King of Jazz Gold Strike 2:07.37
A But O?Gold Will He Crow 2:04.72
Mobil Rock Again 2:02.48
TJ?s Lucky Moon
Anglian Prince Forever Grand 2:06.88
Win City Brushing Bully 2:03.78
Scatter the Gold
I and I For Our Sake 2:05.53

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field