Prince of Wales Stakes

Prince of Wales Stakes ? Race Details:

Track Location:
Fort Erie Race Track, Ontario
Race Distance:
1 3/16 miles
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
three-year-olds Canadian born
Scale Weight
CAN $500 000

First run in 1929, the Prince of Wales Stakes is the second jewel in the prestigious Triple Crown series in Canada. Held at the Fort Eerie racetrack at Ontario in July each year, the event is run over a 1 3/16 mile left-handed dirt track by a top-class field of three-year-old Canadian foaled contenders with scale weights all competing for the CAN $500 000 prize money on offer.

The race was installed as the second leg in the Canadian Triple Crown thirty years after its inception in 1959, and that year?s Prince of Wales Stakes winner, New Providence, also became the first Triple Crown victor in Canada after winning the Queen?s Plate the June before and the Breeders? Stakes in August of the same year. Possibly the most celebrated and loved winner of the Prince of Wales Stakes was Dance Smartly in 1991, who also went on to win the Triple Crown, the first filly to do so.

The field is often quite small in the Prince of Wales, Fort Erie?s premier event, with the 2009 race consisting of only six starters. The year before that in 2008 there were only seven horses contesting the race. This means the race is always highly competitive, as the field of runners are usually quite evenly matched so punters really have to keep a close eye on their form in the prep races to help with their selections.

The Prince of Wales Stakes is almost always run by a similar field of entries to the Queen?s Plate, the first race of the Triple Crown. In the past, this earlier event has been a good indication for the Prince of Wales. After the race, many runners will continue their racing campaigns with a run in the final leg of the Triple Crown, the Breeders? Stakes at Woodbine.

Prince of Wales Stakes ? Records:

Shortest-Priced Winner:
Ivestia in 1990 at $2.10
Longest-Priced Winner:
Coryphee in 1987 at $112.80
Most Successful Jockey:
Hugo Dittfach had five successful runs in the Prince of Wales Stakes, winning with Bulpamiru (1960), King Gorm (1962), Canebora (1963), He?s A Smoothie (1966) and Battling (1967).
Most Successful Trainer:
Roger Attfield has achieved five victories in the Prince of Wales Stakes with Norcliffe (1976), With Approval (1989), Izvestia (1990), Peteski (1993) and Ablo (2005).

Prince of Wales Stakes ? Recent Race Results:





Winner’s Time

Milwaukee Appeal Eye of the Leopard 1:56.74
Harlem Rocker
East End Tap Pronger 1:56.46
Jiggs Coz Daaher 1:55.04
Shillelagh Slew
Pipers Thunder Royal Challenger 1:55.87
Autumn Snow Wild Desert 1:56.90
A Bit O?Gold
Niigon His Smoothness 1:57.69
Arco?s Gold Shoal Water 1:55.84
Le Cinquieme Essai
Bravely Anglian Prince 1:56.53
Win City
Dancethruthedawn Brushing Bully 1:56.14

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?