Australian Derby

AJC Australian Derby ? Race Details:

Early April
Track Location:
Royal Randwick Racecourse, Sydney
Race Distance:
Race Status:
Group 1
Race Conditions:
Three-Year-Olds Open ? Set Weights
Set Weights:
Colts & Geldings ? 56.5kg / Fillies ? 54.5kg
$1.3 million
Race Record:
2:28.41 set by Octagonal in 1996

The final leg of the prestigious Australian Triple Crown, the Australian Derby is a Group One race that is held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival at the beginning of April. The race is conducted at the Royal Randwick racecourse by the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) and is considered the leading race for three year olds at the carnival.

The Group 1 Australian Derby is run over the traditional derby distance of 2400m under set weight conditions. With stakes set at over $1.3 million it is also one of the most lucrative races in the autumn and draws a top quality field of classy runners. The Australian Derby is well-known for producing winners who continue on to become Australian turf champions including star gallopers Sky Heights in 1999, Octagonal in 1996, Mahogany in 1994, Naturalism in 1992, and earlier on, Kingston Town in 1980, Tulloch in 1957 and the illustrious Phar Lap in 1929.

Key lead-up events to the Derby include the first two races of the Triple Crown Series, the Randwick Guineas (1600m) and the Rosehill Guineas (2000m). Entries may also come via the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes (2000m) held the week before.

Australian Derby ? Recent Race Results:





Winner’s Time

Roman Emperor
Harris Tweed Predatory Pricer 2:31.0
Nom De Jeu
Red Ruler Littorio 2:36.2
Ambitious General Tuesday Joy 2:36.4
De Beers Testifafiable 2:29.9
Stella Grande Railings 2:35.8
Braeloch Delzao 2:34.8
Strasbourg Mummify 2:32.3
Don Eduardo
Carnegie Express Pentastic 2:32.7
Universal Prince
Sir Clive Danamite 2:30.8
Shogun Lodge Now Voyager 2:34.0

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field