Wagga Cup

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The listed Wagga Cup is set to run on Friday, May 5th at Wagga Wagga Racecourse.

The listed Wagga Wagga Gold Cup is a 2000m open handicap race run each year in early May to much anticipation. The Wagga Cup usually attracts a decent field of local and interstate horses as well as the occasional raider from New Zealand. Canberra horses are often well-represented in results, with both 2012 winner Coliseo and 2011 champion Voice Commander racing out of ACT stables.

Claimed by some to be the second oldest horse race in Australia, the Wagga Cup has developed a reputation as a major event in the Riverina region. Although it is usually run during the week, the Wagga Cup has no difficulties attracting viewers or listeners from far and wide. The Wagga Cup attracts a lot of punting attention both locally and from the rest of Australia.

The Wagga Cup is unique amongst very limited company as a highly popular listed race. Although the purse is not considerable at $150,000, the hype surrounding Wagga Cup race day has considerably outgrown that of the average listed race.

The 2017 Wagga Wagga Gold Cup will be run on Friday May 5th, 2017 at Royal Randwick.

Wagga Cup
Date: Friday May 5th, 2017
Track: Wagga Wagga Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Wagga Cup Field

The 2017 Wagga Cup field will be provided below.

Wagga Cup History

The Wagga Cup had its inaugural run on November 26, 1873, when Mountaineer won. Since that date the Wagga Cup has developed into a popular local race with a strong tradition of excellence.

Listed below are Wagga Cup winners since 1990.

Wagga Cup Winners

Year Winner
2015 TBD
2014 Trade Commissioner
2013 Scream Machine
2012 Coliseo
2011 Voice Commander
2010 Sainthood
2009 Macknuckle
2008 Tommifrancs
2007 Fooram
2006 Mc Lir
2005 Natural Blitz
2004 Vanquished
2003 Kreisler Mirage
2002 Call Me Lily
2001 Regal Touch
2000 Sporting
1999 Goodwood
1998 Chance Affair
1997 Here’s The Prince
1996 Nobellotto
1995 Top Guy
1993 Antwerp
1992 Fleet Dancer
1991 Greenback
1990 Mill Court

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field