Scone Cup

One of the most popular country racing events in NSW, the Scone Cup will run on Friday May 15th, 2015 at Scone Racecourse.

Scone Cup News

Pajaro Scores Upset 2016 Scone Cup Win

Pajaro Scores Upset 2016 Scone Cup Win

Peter & Paul Snowden’s roughie shot Pajaro scored an upset win in Friday’s 2016 Scone Cup improving on a failed last start run in the Hawkesbury Cup to take out the mile feature from the outside alley.

Peter Snowden scored his third Scone Cup win with Pajaro (pictured at Randwick) in 2016. Photo: Steve Hart.

On April 30 the ...

The 2015 Scone Cup is one of the biggest events in NSW country racing. Anticipated by thousands of local racing fans, the turnout for the Scone Cup can often exceed the population of Scone by as much as 100%. The Scone Cup is easily one of the more exciting races held in the Hunter region.

The Scone Cup was elevated to listed status in 2006 and has continued its rise in popularity since. Due to the prevalence of breeding and training outfits in the area, the Scone Cup and other races on the same card tend to draw a lot of attention and even funding from local members of the horseracing industry.

Scone Cup Day is followed by Dark Jewel Classic Day, on which the Group 3 $200,000 Dark Jewel Classic sprint is held. The Saturday has been growing in popularity alongside Scone Cup Day, making it a very big weekend for racegoers.

The 2015 Scone Cup will be run on Friday May 15th, 2015 at Scone Racecourse.

Scone Cup
Date: Friday May 15th, 2015
Track: Scone Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Conditions: Open – Qlty
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $200,000
Inaugurated: 1947

2015 Scone Cup Field

The 2015 Scone Cup field will be provided below.

2015 Scone Cup Nominations

The 2015 Scone Cup nominations will be published here.

Scone Cup History

Inaugurated in 1947, the Scone Cup has been run by the Scone Race Club (formed in 1944) since its inception. Now run at the new racecourse (constructed in 1994), every year the Scone Cup attracts multitudes of professional trainers, talented horses, wealthy owners and keen racing fans.

Scone Cup winners since 2000 are listed below.

Scone Cup Winners

Year Winner
2015 TBD
2014 Cameo
2013 Speediness
2012 Raspberries
2011 Dysphonia
2010 Keepin’ The Dream
2009 Obvious Choice
2008 Newton’s Rings
2007 Spy Ziam
2006 Fighting Fund
2005 Impaler
2004 Jeremiad
2003 Full On Magic
2002 Huge Demand
2001 Brave Prince
2000 Brave Prince