Murray Bridge Cup

The 2015 Murray Bridge Cup is a Listed event held at Murray Bridge Racecourse during October.

Murray Bridge Cup News

Sandown Results – Éclair Surprise Takes Out 2012 Eclipse Stakes

Sandown Results – Éclair Surprise Takes Out 2012 Eclipse Stakes

Éclair Surprise has proved too good in today’s 2012 Eclipse Stakes, winning the race in dominant fashion ahead of a talented field. The Blackfriars gelding has now won five of his 12 race starts and has earned more than $365,000 in prize money. The win makes it three in a row for Éclair Surprise, who…

The 2015 Murray Bridge Cup is a Listed mile event held at Murray Bridge Racecourse during the Spring Racing Carnival.

Raced over 1600m, the Murray Bridge Cup is not as long in distance as other cup events. However, it still provides compelling entertainment and excellent punting opportunities.

An open quality handicap, the Murray Bridge Cup welcomes all comers for an attempt at its $80,000 prize. It is the headline event on a day that carries no other black-type races. The Murray Bridge Cup is often targeted by horses as part of an ongoing spring campaign.

The Murray Bridge Gold Cup sees a mixture of country horses and city horses go head to head. Because it’s only an hour east of Adelaide, the journey isn’t particularly arduous for horses form major Adelaide stables.

While horses contesting the Murray Bridge Cup come from a broad assortment of preparations, most tend to target slightly longer distance events following a run in the Cup. One of the preferred targets is the Kyneton Cup (2000m).

The 2015 Murray Bridge Cup will be run on Wednesday, October 14th.

Murray Bridge Cup 2015
Date: Wednesday, October 14th, 2015
Track: Murray Bridge
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: Open Quality
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $80,000

2015 Murray Bridge Cup Field

The Murray Bridge Cup field is usually comprised of a diverse mix of country and metro horses, all with differing preparations. Because of this, picking a winner from the Murray Bridge Cup field can be extremely challenging, and the race is often open to upsets.

The 2015 Murray Bridge Cup field will be published below.

2015 Murray Bridge Cup Nominations

The Murray Bridge Cup nominations tend to feature a similar mixture of horses to that of the final field. Those horses which enter the Murray Bridge Cup nominations usually haven’t had extreme success at black-type racing.

The 2015 Murray Bridge Gold Cup nominations will be provided here.

Murray Bridge Cup History

The Murray Bridge Cup dates back to the very early 1900s, with the Murray Bridge Turf Club having been formed in 1899.

Throughout its life, the Murray Bridge Cup has been a mainstay of country racing in the region, with a number of the best local horses targeting it each year.

The Murray Bridge Gold Cup is now held at Gifford Hill, the multimillion dollar racing precinct recently built in the town.

Notable Murray Bridge Cup winners include King’s Arch (2003), Moment In Time (2009) and Eclair Surprise (2012). Interestingly (or frustratingly, depending on the way you look at it), Sandhill Prince came second three years in a row (2009-11). Murray Bridge Cup results and winning times since 2003 are listed below.

Murray Bridge Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Murray Bridge Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Excites Zelady 1 minute 37.02 seconds
2nd Evangelist
3rd Corvidae
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Pelicano 1 minute 38.11 seconds
2nd Lady Dynamo
3rd Little Akie
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Eclair Surprise 1 minute 37.55 seconds
2nd Assertive Eagle
3rd Ballypatrick
Murray Bridge Cup
1st War Ends 1 minute 37.20 seconds
2nd Sandhill Prince
3rd Too Many Reds
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Hawks Bay 1 minute 38.97 seconds
2nd Sandhill Prince
3rd Jutland
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Moment In Time 1 minute 37.45 seconds
2nd Sandhill Prince
3rd Ciro Prince
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Club Liquid 1 minute 35.41 seconds
2nd The Gem
3rd Dynamic Hero
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Wild Will 1 minute 36.48 seconds
2nd Acacia Queen
3rd Bergstrom
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Bo Best 1 minute 35.50 seconds
2nd Time Matters
3rd Pride Of Archway
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Get Up 1 minute 40.85 seconds
2nd Danalaga
3rd Rally
Murray Bridge Cup
1st Finniss D’Or 1 minute 37.42 seconds
2nd Get Up
3rd Pentirely
Murray Bridge Cup
1st King’s Arch 1 minute 36.55 seconds
2nd Fly For Me
3rd Mustaagel